|  | 
07-22-2010, 08:12 AM
|  | Registered User Builder: Valenti Basses | | Join Date: Feb 2001 Location: Staten Island NYC | | | New kind of email scam?
Sign in to disble this ad
I've never seen one like this: Quote:
Thanks for the co-operation and also for responding. You have been selected for your first assignment as a.Employment Job/ Sale Representative You will earn $500 by being a mystery shopper. Your employment packet include business evaluation form, a training assignment which will be send to you after you received payment for the assignment. Paycheck would be sent to you for the assignment by Certified Check or money order. The paycheck would be $3,900, you are to deduct your 500 salary,and the rest would be used for : Your Employment packet are as follows :
1. Business evaluation form: This is the form you are required to fill after you visit any shopping mall in your area, you would be given the store name and address that you will be needing to send the remaining fund to after you have deduct your $500 salary... You are required to evaluate its customer service and quality control after their services are rendered to you. You would required to fill a form to rate the employee(s), the form would be given to you after the evaluation:
2. Training Assignment: You are hired to evaluate the quality of services of the store or mall that would be given to you . You are needed to rate the employees. Please note, this is a part-time activity. Training Assignment: You are hired to evaluate the quality of services of the store or mall that would be given to you You are needed to rate the employees. Please note, this is a part-time activity.. Email me the below details:
First Name:
Last Name:
Address:
City:
State:
Zip Code:
Age:
Phone Number:
I will be looking forward to receive the above details.
REPLY TO: mysteryshopper33@hotmail.com
Your`s Sincerely
Mrs Cynthia Smith
| | 
07-22-2010, 08:17 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2002 Location: London UK | | That's defintely legitimate. You should do it! 
__________________
Pics of my gear. Quote: |
Originally Posted by FL Knifemaker you're nothing but a **** stirring troll | Set your expectations accordingly.
| 
07-22-2010, 08:18 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Columbus, OH | | | Yes.. definitely a scam. I've seen these before. They attempt to gather personal information from you so that they can impersonate you later on. Not to mention sell your information to as many people as they can. This one's been around for a few years, so I'm surprised you haven't seen one before. I've been getting them all the time in my spam folder for at least 2 years on multiple email accounts.
A reputable business wouldn't send out a blind mailing like that. They also would not ask for that much information, nor would they use a hotmail address. The name they used is probably the name of someone they tricked into providing info.
__________________
Yamaha Member #102/Short Scale Member #36/Gibson Member #32/ Ohio Bassist Member #1/ ANIME-ted bassist #2
'65 Gibson SG eb0,Yamaha RBX374, 2008 MIM Fender P, Line 6 LD300 Pro
| 
07-22-2010, 08:25 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Apr 2003 Location: Alexandria, VA | | | I would be surprised if the personal information that email requests is enough to do any real damage; you can ascertain virtually all of that just by talking to someone casually (versus, say, asking for a SSN or credit card number).
To me, this is the same old We-Send-You-A-Bad-Payment-And-You-Send-Us-A-Good-One scheme with slightly different packaging. They'll send you a worthless check for $3900 and you'll send them a good one for $500. The rest is just a house of cards to make it seem legitimate.
__________________
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
| 
12-03-2010, 09:03 AM
|  | Registered User | | | | | | 
12-03-2010, 09:53 AM
|  | Online | | Join Date: Apr 2001 Location: Sunapee, New Hampshire | | | I am a mystery shopper for a legitimate company out of Atlanta. It takes me a few months to pull in $500.
-Mike | 
12-03-2010, 10:41 AM
| | | | Anyone writing you a check for more than you're supposed to get, asking you to send the rest elsewhere, is a scammer. | 
12-03-2010, 10:57 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Eh? | | | A message from a hotmail address is a scam, period.
__________________ Quote:
Originally Posted by tom once dead Also to prove my Australianism, I've been stung by an irukandji jellyfish before, while snorkelling at an island looking at stingrays. | | 
12-03-2010, 01:14 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: May 2008 Location: Calabash, NC | | | I have a Hotmail e-mail address that I've had for well over 10 years. But in the past year or so, my sent items folder has been flooded with junk mail/spam.... coming from me. My buddy has a Hotmail address and lately I've been getting lots of spam coming from his address. Anyone else having this problem with Hotmail?
__________________ Quote:
Originally Posted by MakiSupaStar Let's genetically build Jar Jar Binks so we can hunt him down in the Florida swamps and kill him. Repeatedly. | | 
12-03-2010, 02:47 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: QLD, Australia | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassman316 I have a Hotmail e-mail address that I've had for well over 10 years. But in the past year or so, my sent items folder has been flooded with junk mail/spam.... coming from me. My buddy has a Hotmail address and lately I've been getting lots of spam coming from his address. Anyone else having this problem with Hotmail? | You've been hacked.
You probably shouldn't have visited all those porn sites..
Change password, reset recovery questions, probably reload your computer incase of a keylogger or something.
__________________ Quote:
Originally Posted by Stigs I could never get past anything involving exponents, atheists don't believe in higher powers. | | 
12-03-2010, 03:18 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: San Diego/LA | | | I'm in! I was going to have a custom $3900 new bass built but in just under 8 months of collecting my easy $500, well, it will pay for itself. Oh boy!
Update - Mrs Cynthia Smith needed my checking account number and PIN.......must be direct deposit now. The benefits are really adding up quickly. | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |