Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canterbury, England
Odd message appearing when I log in to TalkBass...

Sign in to disble this ad
Everytime I go to the webstie 'www.talkbass.com' ( I'm saying this because it's only there, not something like www.talkbass.com/forums) a message box appears.

It says:

You have attempted to open a connection with "app.quicksizzle.com". However, the security certificate presented belongs to "www.godaddy.com". It is possible, though unlikely, that someone may be trying to intercept your communication with this website.

If you suspect the certificate shown does not belong to "app.quicksizzle.com, then cancel the connection and notify the site administrator.

I'm then given the view certificate, ok and cancel options.


Does anyone have a clue what this is about? It's never happened before until today where it happens everytime I go to this website. Everytime it comes up I press cancel,but I'm worried about what it does/is doing.

I'm using Firefox on Windwos XP, if that makes any difference.




Thanks in advance.
  #2  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London, Ontario
That's a problem with the Talkbass server / domain name.. not your computer...
__________________
Fender Precision Club #666
Fender Jazz Club #879
  #3  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Sounds to me like ad/malware...

If I were you I'd give the PC a scan, and delete cookies/temp files/browsing history.
__________________
Black n' Rosewood #14
My Youtube Videos
  #4  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:23 PM
fenderhutz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Supporting Member
No, it's firefox and adblocker I think.

Are you using those two?

Adblocker is having issues with that ad server.
  #5  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canterbury, England
I don't use adblocker but I do use firefox.

I'll try giving the computer a scan and delteing the cookies and things.
  #6  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:44 PM
superfunk47's Avatar
Playing his P bass off into the sunset
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bellingham, WA
Supporting Member
This exact same thing happens to me!

I've never even been to godaddy.com and this is happening to me...and I'm using Opera...It's the weirdest thing!

The only options are 'accept,' 'cancel,' and 'help.' I always click cancel
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitch it! View Post
Never did I think the crucible of morality, would come in the shape of a toilet
Quote:
Originally Posted by mambo4 View Post
Sincerely,
Jeff Berlin's Metronome
  #7  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Lakeside, CA
Supporting Member
I'm getting the same message using Firefox. I don't think there is a problem our PCs. I suspect Firefox is blocking a popup that contains "questionable" information.

Ben
__________________
Ampeg Club #58, Carvin Club #117
  #8  
Old 06-25-2008, 03:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London ON
Send a message via Skype™ to Steve Clark
I see the same message on PC/Firefox but not Safari/Mac
__________________
Upcoming Shows
  #9  
Old 06-25-2008, 03:11 PM
RWP RWP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Must be a Go Daddy problem like this one.


  #10  
Old 06-25-2008, 03:29 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
That would be one of two things

A)Firefox's preset firewall is detecting some kind of launching application, And blocking it, therefore giving that nice little warning. By the sounds of it, its an application registered to godaddy servers, Or an error on Godaddys part. The security certificate part suggests this may be plausible.

B) Talkbass's server is all sixes and sevens.
  #11  
Old 06-25-2008, 06:02 PM
bassybill's Avatar
No need to ask, he's a smooth...
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: West Midlands UK
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by flakeh View Post
Talkbass's server is all sixes and sevens.
And there I was, thinking digital communication was all 1s and 0s.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SBassman View Post
Man, I'd soil myself playing in a band like that.
  #12  
Old 06-25-2008, 06:56 PM
<- Not me I just like looking at her
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cable Wi
It's an issue with one of the ads thats being served up probably with something with their domain. It's only showing up on the front page because its a contextual ad thats only showing up for you there. My guess is theres nothing you or I or Paul can do about it. Accepting will probably just display the ad and cancel will now show it.
__________________
Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. 1922-2007 - So It Goes
My avatar is Jen Zielenbach of Antigone Rising so stop PM'ing me about it.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.