Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
PayPal Policy - IMPORTANT

Sign in to disble this ad
just placed some pictures of my hartke system for sale in a national website (portuguese)

after a while, just got an email from a brittish fellow saying he wants to buy the hartke from me and wants do do the payment using paypal.. everything fine until now.

the strange part is that this guy says he will arrange a transportation of the items on its own..

my problem is how can i be sure he gets what he paid for? what happens to me if the items get lost and never appear again? what if they get damaged? will pay pal ask me for a refund? what if this is a scam? what if the seller gets the hartke and says he never got it? will i have to give the money back?

i asked if this guy would be using DHL, UPS or SEUR but he said this is a private company... this means that at this point i do not even know if i will get a receipt proving i sent the goods!! does this seem a scam or what?

I already emailed paypal asking for advice but i am still waiting for their reply.
  #2  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:35 PM
JayAmel's Avatar
♪ ♫ ♪ ♪ ♫ ♪
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Narbonne, France
Supporting Member
Not sure, but pretty much looks like a scam. If you are in doubt, don't do the transaction.
__________________
Bass player for Ohpium & BandStand
Fender MIA Club Member #58M
Ampeg Club Member #368
Portaflex Club Member #149
VT Bass Club Member #105
  #3  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:44 PM
baba's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 3rd stone from the sun
Supporting Member
scam.
__________________
FOR SALE - Musicman Stingray 5 BURNT APPLE -http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f126/musicman-stingray-5-burnt-apple-882195/
  #4  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
when i was exchanging emails with this guy, i said i would not like to use paypal because i was afraid to have to pay tax, this way the money i am asking would be cut by 21% due to national taxes.. he said no and gave me this email so i could confirm with paypal i would not be paying any tax.. just check this:

service@intl.paypal.com (this is the genuine paypal address)

the email the guy gave is this one:



services@paypal-team.com



and i use gmail and that email account is named services@intl.paypal.com (notice the S in services)



i asked some things to that fake (i think it is fake) and they said everything is ok with this deal.



this is a scammer right? what do you think he is trying to do? trying me to send him the stuff, then he opens a file against me and i have to refund him? what do you think i should do?
  #5  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Waco, TX
In these cases if anything smells fishy at all I tend to avoid.

bc
__________________
Check out my photoblog: www. focusedonthelight. net
  #6  
Old 07-14-2010, 12:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
i never sold anything over the internet so i do not know how this stuff works.. do you think that if i let the system go in his private transportation company, he can get his money back if he opens a file against me?
  #7  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Waco, TX
Run away. Don't even try to go through the logic. It doesn't look right.

bc
__________________
Check out my photoblog: www. focusedonthelight. net
  #8  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
lol

i am just trying to figure out what is the idea behind this!
  #9  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anasleim, CA
SCAM!
  #10  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
well, it seems everyone agrees this is a scam.. what if i teach this guy a lesson? i am open to suggestions!
  #11  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anasleim, CA
My suggestion, run away! Leave it be!
  #12  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Houston
If that's not a scammer, I've got a small fortune in Nigeria I'd like to send him.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaranhao View Post
well, it seems everyone agrees this is a scam.. what if i teach this guy a lesson? i am open to suggestions!

Just drop it. All contact. Don't reply to anymore emails, it's just wasting your time.
  #13  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:25 PM
superbassman2000's Avatar
put a bird on it
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Minnesota
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaranhao View Post
well, it seems everyone agrees this is a scam.. what if i teach this guy a lesson? i am open to suggestions!
i would suggest not teaching him a lesson--you don't really know who you are dealing with--you might have been setting yourself up for a robbery. My instincts tell me that when they might have done is show up with a big delivery truck and ask for the item that you are selling, and they could either pull a weapon on you or knock you out somehow and then take all your stuff.

I personally wouldn't return anymore emails
  #14  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chester, Pa.,USA
Even if there's a possibility that it may be legit, if it doesn't feel right, drop it.
  #15  
Old 07-14-2010, 01:34 PM
DaveDeVille's Avatar
... you talkin' to me ??
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: DEEP in the Heart of Texas
Send a message via Yahoo to DaveDeVille
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.Linton View Post
Even if there's a possibility that it may be legit,
if it doesn't feel right, drop it.
there's some good advice being given .

don't even respond to his e-mail anymore ... drop it .
__________________
Fender M.I.A. # 65 - G&L # 3 - HollowBody # 349
Black
'n' Maple # 15- Olympic White # 23
Texas Bassist # 9 - Blues Bass Player # 95
Aguilar # 50 - Genz-Benz # 232
http:www.thebobbassband.com


  #16  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:01 PM
Staccato's Avatar
Hammer On!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Babbling Brook
Supporting Member
Wait for a buyer that agrees to your terms-without countering you with OTHER terms-like the guy you mentioned...
__________________
Bass Player Couples #9
“To play without passion is inexcusable!” ― Ludwig van Beethoven
  #17  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
i am tempted to create a dummy paypal account and give this guy an address in the middle of nothing, when he goes to take the items, there is nothing there! just so these kind of people get what they deserve!

Last edited by Mr. BassmanPT : 07-14-2010 at 02:15 PM.
  #18  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anasleim, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmaranhao View Post
i am tempted to create a dummy paypal account and give an address in the middle of nothing, just so these kind of people get what they deserve!
  #19  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by elgecko View Post
?
  #20  
Old 07-14-2010, 02:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Pics of scammer?
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.