Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston
Pesky Friggin' Telemarketers!

Sign in to disble this ad
Yesterday at quarter of 2 in the morning, the phone rings at my house. It's a call from something called "Albatross Marketing", showing up on caller ID as "ALBATROSS MARKE". Later on last night, I got online and googled the company name, and it took me to one of those "who was that telemarketer" type sites where people post telemarketer's numbers and comment on what they said, when they called, etc. I guess these people like to call in the wee hours for some reason. I also found that this is a phone phishing scam. Has anyone else had experience with these people?
__________________
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/a...wesimodsig.png

If we could use images for signature, this would be mine.
  #2  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Waco, TX
If it's a phishing scam then maybe they call in the wee hours so that you won't be thinking clearly when you answer. Or maybe they are in another country. I would just go online and put the number into my call filter list and never hear from 'em again.

bc
__________________
Check out my photoblog: www. focusedonthelight. net
  #3  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:20 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigMe View Post
If it's a phishing scam then maybe they call in the wee hours so that you won't be thinking clearly when you answer. Or maybe they are in another country. I would just go online and put the number into my call filter list and never hear from 'em again.

bc
1. That's what I was thinking

2. Apparently they are in England.
__________________
http://i891.photobucket.com/albums/a...wesimodsig.png

If we could use images for signature, this would be mine.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.