Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-11-2008, 12:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Findlay, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to Tim Cole
Possible ebay scam?

Sign in to disble this ad
Something doesn't sit right with this.......

I listed a couple lane poor pickups on ebay. The first one sold on buy it now, and immediately following the auction I get this message from the buyer....

Hi. I would like to let you know that we can not make a payment through eBay/Paypal now cause of their system trouble. I will get back to you as soon as the problem is solved. Sorry for the delay of payment and thank you for your patience.
*** @ Allied partner of eBay for Japan - Shop Airlines, Ltd.
--- Please read -----
When you receive payment from us and ship the item(s), would you please put your item ID xxxxxxxxxxx at the side of package(s) or on the shipping label? Just in your handwriting is fine. The ID number is used in our operation in warehouse. Thank you so much for your cooperation.

There were no system outages that I am aware of, but I did a search on this user name, and came up with quite a few others where on the span of the last couple days had the same buyer hit a buy it now, and send the same email word for word.

So I listed a second lane poor......same buyer, exact same email after he hit the buy it now. I blocked the bidder from buying, and relisted the pickups.

Well today, I have paypal payment for both of them....verified account, etc.

The info on the paypal receipt is:

Customer Service URL: http://www.sekaimon.com/ Customer Service Email: removed@sekaimon.com
Sekaimon is like the japan ebay. I am totally confused here............
__________________
Remember 10/30
  #2  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:14 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
That is hella weird, I agree. The one thing I can think of is that in Japan it is very common to have a "middle man" buyer for international transactions, such that you are selling to one person who acts on behalf of another. In this case Sekaimon may be a professional middle-man entity in addition to being the auction house. I'm not sure though.
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #3  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Findlay, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to Tim Cole
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongomania View Post
That is hella weird, I agree. The one thing I can think of is that in Japan it is very common to have a "middle man" buyer for international transactions, such that you are selling to one person who acts on behalf of another. In this case Sekaimon may be a professional middle-man entity in addition to being the auction house. I'm not sure though.

Me neither.......it just doesn't feel right, and with both of them going for a total of $900, I am going to wait a bit before shipping. It seems like everything adds up on the paypal end.....verifier member, doesn't ask to be shipped to an alternate address, etc.
__________________
Remember 10/30
  #4  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:21 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
Maybe post a thread with a title asking Japanese TB'ers to look into it for you?
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #5  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:33 PM
MJ5150's Avatar
Online
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Sunapee, New Hampshire
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by bongomania View Post
Maybe post a thread with a title asking Japanese TB'ers to look into it for you?
The only TB'er in Japan I know of is Pacman, and he's from the USA.

-Mike
  #6  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:39 PM
Pilgrim's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Supporting Member
If you got paid, it seems OK. However, there is a lot of cash involved. Did you open it up to international purchases? If not, cancel the deals and refund the money.
__________________
"...awesome as a monkey wearing a tuxedo made of bacon, riding on a unicorn!'"

Last edited by Pilgrim : 11-11-2008 at 01:42 PM.
  #7  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Austin, Texas
Wait a minute, Lane poors are THAT much?!?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by IconBasser View Post
"Sean... I can't feel my ears. Is this normal?"
Nachos and a Coke club member #1
  #8  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Findlay, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to Tim Cole
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilgrim View Post
If you got paid, where's the problem? Ship.
If it is a hijacked account, after I ship two pickups out, they deduct the money from me.

Not in the mood to give away 900 bucks.
__________________
Remember 10/30
  #9  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ontario
My soccer coach used to say; when in doubt, kick it out.
  #10  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Findlay, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to Tim Cole
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriss62 View Post
Wait a minute, Lane poors are THAT much?!?
Apparently. I love them, but not THAT much! I bought a flea for $900, and sold the pup for $475. About the only way I can afford nice gear.
__________________
Remember 10/30
  #11  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:53 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Can anyone tell me how this worked out? Was it actually a scam, or did it turn out to be legitimate?
  #12  
Old 09-06-2009, 11:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Tim Cole, did you have ANY problems with this company? I'm just curious because many sellers on Ebay had gotten their money yanked from paypal, as this company has filed "Not as described" claims on almost everything they have bid on! Most recorded material, which I am sure has been copied. I recently sent this company a VERY rare 4 cd set of Michael Jackson discs, with backing tracks and alcappela tracks from all of his hits. I had included a free bonus DVD of all of michaels videos. They filed a complaint after a whole month had gone by, and refused to return the merchandise until I grant a full refund (including shipping!) I had to force paypal to email them with a demand for the return of the merchandise. This company is supposed to be in Carson, but the address is actually a RESIDENCE!!! And there is no business phone listed to that address, only a residencial address. I have filed a formal complaint with Ebay, and paypal, but little good that will do! There have been over 200 complaints filed by sellers on only ONE of this companies 15 Ebay ID's!!!! I wonder how many complaints are on the other IDs???
Anyway, to answer the previous question asked by icanhaveablast, YES, this is a scam, this is a bogus company, and they are not legit at all! They ripped me off for 49.00 on this deal, and are fighting the return of the merchandise! Tell your friends!

William L. Taylor

Last edited by williamtaylor : 09-06-2009 at 11:03 AM.
  #13  
Old 02-05-2010, 01:34 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I just had a buyer from Allied Partner of eBay for Japan - Shop Airlines, Ltd....has anyone found out anything new? I searched them, and this site came up first!
  #14  
Old 02-05-2010, 03:45 PM
MakiSupaStar's Avatar
The Lowdown Diggler
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Supporting Member
900 dollar pickups?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Perry View Post
Oh, and I'm clearly retarded.


Down and Dirty | hi life in low fi

http://soundcloud.com/downanddirty/king-midas
  #15  
Old 02-05-2010, 07:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarponjuli View Post
I just had a buyer from Allied Partner of eBay for Japan - Shop Airlines, Ltd....has anyone found out anything new? I searched them, and this site came up first!
Well, williamtaylor's post seems enough for me to avoid them like the plague.
__________________
Zon Sonus Custom 6
Zon Vinny 6 Fretless
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.