|  | | 
09-15-2009, 02:50 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Va Beach, VA | | | Selling a bass by strange means
Sign in to disble this ad
I put one of my basses up for sale on here and craigslist. A guy contacted me through craigslist wanting it, and willing to pay over the amount, to secure it for himself. That's not TOO out there.
Now it gets odd. He wanted to do, was mail me a check, and have a "moving company" come to my house and pick the bass up. Then his personal assistant mailed me a check for an amount FAR over the price, meant for someone else. It seems his PA is a total foul-up b/c he had to send it to my over-night, vise regular mail.
To solve the overage problem, he wants me to wire the overage money to someone in CA, less my cost.
Oh, and from how "he" writes, it seems like english is NOT his first language. It's not bad, but not totally on the money. No pun intended.
Almost forgot. I've told him I want to contact the package carrier myself and/or drop it off to them.
How do I proceed, fellow bottom feeders? | 
09-15-2009, 02:52 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Oct 2004 Location: Cincinnati, Ohio | | | That sounds unbelievably sketchy, I'd run like Hell if I were you. | 
09-15-2009, 02:53 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: Seweracuse, NY | | | You're kidding, right?
__________________ fEARful: for those who want something better: http://greenboy.us/fEARful/ For Sale (locally only): Bergantino HT115 with Cover: $500.00. PM me about it. | 
09-15-2009, 02:54 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2009 Location: Tucson, AZ | | | That's a scam all over craigslist. | 
09-15-2009, 02:55 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Bothell, WA | | | I'm assuming you are being sarcastic here.
On the off chance you aren't, it's a scam. | 
09-15-2009, 02:55 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Va Beach, VA | | | I know it seems WAY off base, but what the ___ do I do? Unfortunately I'm too scrupulous to just deposit the check and stiff the buyer. I'm kinda lost, honestly. | 
09-15-2009, 02:55 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Feb 2009 Location: Tucson, AZ | | | I'd proceed by boxing up some dog turds and let his "moving company" pick up those. ;-) | 
09-15-2009, 02:57 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Bothell, WA | | Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXbase I know it seems WAY off base, but *** do I do? Unfortunately I'm too scrupulous to just deposit the check and stiff the buyer. I'm kinda lost, honestly. | ............................................______ __
....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
.............................,.-”...................................“-.,
.........................,/...............................................”:,
.....................,?........................... ...........................\,
.................../.................................................. .........,}
................./.................................................. ....,:`^`..}
.............../.................................................. .,:”........./
..............?.....__............................ .............:`.........../
............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
.........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`..... ..._/
..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`..... }............../
............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
.............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|........... ...`=~-,
.....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
................................`:,,.............. .............`\..............__
.....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
........................................_\........ ..._,-%.......`\
...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\ | 
09-15-2009, 02:58 PM
|  | Resident Packer Fanatic | | Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: Madison, Wisconsin | | | It's one of the classic scams. I suggest you google and read up on the common ones to save yourself the headaches. | 
09-15-2009, 02:59 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: May 2007 Location: Clarkston, MI | | | Don't listen to these guys. This is totally liegit. Trust me.
__________________
Username is the Jar Jar Binks of TB-MakiSupaStar Upset Lollipop Eater #3| Vinyl Spinners Club #16| Michigan Club #Awesome| Vegetarian Club #Bananana Quote:
Originally Posted by santucci218 Go ahead, ill sleep with men and drink and have fun. | Mark Wilson Is The Greatest!
| 
09-15-2009, 03:01 PM
|  | I'm a tumbler, born under punches | | Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Northern California | | Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXbase I know it seems WAY off base, but what the ___ do I do? Unfortunately I'm too scrupulous to just deposit the check and stiff the buyer. I'm kinda lost, honestly. | You can deposit it all you want, it will bounce. The only money that will change hands will be the "overage" money you send him.
Tear up the check and be done with it. | 
09-15-2009, 03:02 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Va Beach, VA | | | Wow. That took a min. I feel like a tard.
Got a lot of personal stuff going on and I've been in problem solving mode.
Gents, thanks for letting me see the series of evens typed out, slowing me down. | 
09-15-2009, 03:02 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Jacksonville, FL | | | Nigerian 419 overpayment scam.
I'm going to go out on a limb here. I'll guess that he is emailing you from a yahoo address? If not yahoo, then gmail? Now, if he's using yahoo (or non-gmail), do me a favour and check the IP address. I'll go even further and say that I'll bet he is from Western Africa. More specifically Nigeria. Even more specifically, Lagos, Nigeria. Ask for a phone number. I'll bet it has a +234 country code. Maybe a +44, if he spent the time to get a re-routed number.
Oh, and one more thing... I'll bet my bass collection he wants you to send the "difference" to him via Moneygram or Western Union.
Do me a favour and let me know how many of those I got right please. | 
09-15-2009, 03:04 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Bothell, WA | | Here's a good resource, although it has some NSFW stuff. http://www.419baiter.com/ | 
09-15-2009, 03:15 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jan 2009 Location: Va Beach, VA | | Quote:
Originally Posted by jojobean39 Nigerian 419 overpayment scam.
I'm going to go out on a limb here. I'll guess that he is emailing you from a yahoo address? If not yahoo, then gmail? Now, if he's using yahoo (or non-gmail), do me a favour and check the IP address. I'll go even further and say that I'll bet he is from Western Africa. More specifically Nigeria. Even more specifically, Lagos, Nigeria. Ask for a phone number. I'll bet it has a +234 country code. Maybe a +44, if he spent the time to get a re-routed number.
Oh, and one more thing... I'll bet my bass collection he wants you to send the "difference" to him via Moneygram or Western Union.
Do me a favour and let me know how many of those I got right please. | 1: Gmail
2: Private ip / blocked
3: see 2
4: never got that far
5: Western Union | 
09-15-2009, 03:19 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: Jacksonville, FL | | | Not bad eh? | 
09-15-2009, 03:29 PM
|  | The Lowdown Diggler | | Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Huntington Beach, CA | | | Did he refer to your bass as an "item" or other non de-script term? | 
09-15-2009, 03:36 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: West Covina (LA), SoCal | | | Go for it, but keep the overage amount. Get rich quick man!
__________________
Bassist for Starveya - www.reverbnation.com/starveya
Sat June 9th @ Shamrocks in Chino Hills - 10pm
Bassist - Veg#33, Buddhist#11, LGBT#5
| 
09-15-2009, 03:41 PM
| | Supporting Member | | Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: Connecticut | | | Wow totally looks to be a scam. I'm learning a lot here myself.
__________________ 2008 Fender American Standard Jazz
Ampeg BA115 Amp
---
Fender Jazz Bass Club 491
Olympic White Bass Club 1
Ampeg Club 404 | 
09-15-2009, 03:43 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2008 Location: West Covina (LA), SoCal | | | If you wanted to sell your bass via some strange means you could have strapped it on your back and wandered around a Home Depot parking lot asking people 'psst, wanna buy a bass'
__________________
Bassist for Starveya - www.reverbnation.com/starveya
Sat June 9th @ Shamrocks in Chino Hills - 10pm
Bassist - Veg#33, Buddhist#11, LGBT#5
| | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |