Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:17 PM
cyclomatic's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NYC
GOLD Supporting Member
Spam pm from "mindosia96" our newest member

Sign in to disble this ad
Just received an unsolicited pm from an unknown, seemingly new member. Don't know what reason he pulled me up but I don't think it was a good one. There's a link attached but I'm not touchin' it! IMHO, just delete if you receive this.

No post, no threads, just unsolicited spam! Thanks mindosia96, welcome aboard.

The mysterious handywork:

I improved my guitar skills
Hey!

I improved my guitar skills with Jamorama. I definitely would recommend them if you are looking to increase your skills. Check it out yourself, here.

Good Luck. All the Best!
__________________
Quote:
I'm the Dude! So that's what you call me. You know, uh, that or, uh, His Dudeness, or uh, Duder, or uh, you know, El Duderino - if you're not into the whole brevity thing.

Last edited by HeavyDuty : 08-14-2011 at 07:44 PM. Reason: Deleted possible virus link
  #2  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:34 PM
OldDog52's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Supporting Member
I got the same PM. What a dipwad. Deleted.
  #3  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saint John, NB, Canada
Send a message via MSN to Ayce
Mine was different, mentioned a replacement for Limewire. Also deleted, I aint THAT dumb.
__________________
"It's a poor musician that blames his instrument."
Peavey Amp Club #175 Peavey Megabass Club #2 Yamaha Bass Club #348
  #4  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:51 PM
254 stringer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waco Texas
Supporting Member
i got the same from nulav13
  #5  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: vt
Mine came from "vipey23".
  #6  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:58 PM
shaggy45's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Georgia
GOLD Supporting Member
same from wojil21..reported it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xray66 View Post
Next time we fight a country, they should just put together a platoon of package handlers and send them over there.
FS: Roland AP-7 Jet Phaser

http://www.nconspicuous.com/spooky/
  #7  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:03 PM
OldDog52's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Supporting Member
Mine was from user omeqe02 ("improved my guitar skills").
  #8  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Yep, I got one too from some dude so I forwarded itto the admin and told him I thought we had a spammer.
__________________
Music Man and Ibanez basses.
crystavox.com
  #9  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Louisville, KY
Awe, I feel left out.
__________________
'07 US Lakland 44-60(JO), '06 US Lakland 44-64(BG), '82 Rickenbacker 4001, EBMM "BFR" SR Fretless(DOB-01/19/11)
Mesa Titan V12, Berg NV425, Ampeg B100-R
  #10  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:06 PM
emor's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kcmo
Supporting Member
I'm always getting ones from some guy named Pacman. Something about a "final warning."
I just delete 'em.







  #11  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Central Alberta
Clicked on properties for the link...

(deleted for safety)
Not sure what you can deceiver from that.... xxxxx? Wuh?


Got the exact same PM from Doxna24. Wonder why they'd choose TB. They probably think bassists aren't smart enough to avoid the link.

Last edited by HeavyDuty : 08-14-2011 at 07:45 PM. Reason: Edited suspected virus link info
  #12  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:11 PM
kaputsport's Avatar
Registered User

Atypical, not a typical...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Carlisle, PA
Send a message via AIM to kaputsport
Supporting Member
I opened mine. I have a mac, and have no issues diving into the deepest depths of the internet scum, just to see what it is like.

The link downloaded a .exe for me. A neatly packaged, self running .exe.

Good thing they can't run in OSX!!!!
__________________
http://www.reverbnation.com/frictionbroadcast
Effects Addict #41
Pedulla Club Member #28
  #13  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Waco, TX
That's not spam, guys. It's an incredible opportunity to increase your penis length by up to two inches. You may even be eligible to refinance your home at amazing low rates if you act now!!

bc
__________________
Check out my photoblog: www. focusedonthelight. net
  #14  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:18 PM
Josh Pelican's Avatar
needs more fuzz
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Send a message via MSN to Josh Pelican
Supporting Member
I didn't get any messages. I feel left out.
__________________
check out the profile for gear and clubs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by behndy View Post
'm a VERRRRRRRrrrrry excited little knob twiddler.
  #15  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I got one too with the limewire wanna be site. Username othuo64. Reported. Seems like TB is gonna need to filter out the pond scum.
__________________
The Thread Killer
Gallien-Krueger Club #796
  #16  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada
I clicked on it and now I'm a much better guitarist.
__________________
P&W Club #674..Canadian Club #145..Fender MIA Club #256..Fender Precision Bass Club #558..5 String Club #473..Dean Club #61
  #17  
Old 08-14-2011, 07:48 PM
HeavyDuty's Avatar
Supporting Curmudgeon
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Suburban Chicago, IL
Supporting Member
Thanks for all the reports, guys! If any new ones show up, please forward them to an admin - but please don't post the links here (for safety.) You may want to check first if the user has already been banned, David Wilson was kicking butt on these earlier.

Again, thanks!
__________________
Ken

If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to serve as a horrible warning.

As I cuddled the porcupine he said I had none to blame, but me.

Last edited by HeavyDuty : 08-15-2011 at 06:16 AM. Reason: Updated info
  #18  
Old 08-14-2011, 08:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Ahh, I feel so left out.
  #19  
Old 08-14-2011, 08:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Orleans
Exclamation Is "nulav13" still logged in?

I received a PM from "nulav13" today, who seems to be up to no good.

Though nulav13's profile says he's banned, it appears that he is still logged in (green dot).
  #20  
Old 08-14-2011, 09:25 PM
bassguitarthund's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Supporting Member
got the same message as the OP on this thread. the user was othuo64. Says banned under his user name, so assuming he was banned
__________________
Bassguitarthunder (Adam)
____________________________________________
Geddy Lee Jazz Club#160/ Club Cort #201/ acoustic amp club #327(b450, b10, 140)/Geddy Jazz/Gene Simmons Cort Axe/Fender Kingman
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.