Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Off Topic [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [BG] Non-music-related discussion and chat


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-27-2008, 05:35 AM
Hollow Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Send a message via AIM to Hollow Man
Supporting Member
Weird Paypal transaction... advice?

Sign in to disble this ad
Okay, I posted a camera on my local craigslist and received several replies, among them someone named Joyce (last name removed in case she's real). She wanted the camera for my asking price, and wanted to Paypal me the money so I'd ship it to her. A little unusual based on my history with craigslist (normally local people just pick up), but whatever... maybe she's lazy or can't/won't travel. As soon as I send her my Paypal address, I get a reply from her and an automated reply from Paypal saying the money has been deducted from her account and will be deposited in my account pending confirmation of shipping. She also included an extra $100 for shipping on a $250 camera! That total makes it equivalent to the price of the camera new on Amazon (to which I even provided a link in my ad)!!!

I check my Paypal, and there's no record of her sending money to me anywhere. Plus, in the allegedly-authentic email from Paypal, it's got me shipping to someone named Sabrina in Mississippi. The email looks VERY authentic (although I haven't done a line-by-line comparison with a known good Paypal email).

So of course, I'm thinking someone's copied Paypal's email, and this is a scam, kinda like the whole Nigerian "I'll-send-you-your-asking-price-plus-an-extra-grand" nonsense. But, it wouldn't be the first time I received a (legitimate) payment from one name and shipped to another name (spouse, kin, friend, etc). And, she just could be naive as to the cost of shipping or this camera new (eBay syndrome). Anyone heard of this? Any advice?
__________________
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
  #2  
Old 06-27-2008, 05:42 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Lincolnshire, UK
it's probably a scam, you should always get payment before shipping.
  #3  
Old 06-27-2008, 06:26 AM
Hollow Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Send a message via AIM to Hollow Man
Supporting Member
See, that's what I thought. My Paypal ALWAYS shows every little thing that I do and notifies me when it's complete. I can't fathom that she would have sent me any money and it wouldn't register somewhere on the site. I'm also baffled by the whole concept of having to verify shipping before it will credit the money to me. Unless Paypal has some new method/procedures for payment for goods to be shipped, this is definitely unusual.

But the email I received supposedly from service@paypal.com looks VERY real, and seems to check out in all the right ways. I just wanted to know if Paypal maybe has started doing shipping verification prior to payments being completed, or if anyone knew of fake Paypal payment confirmation emails circulating out there.
__________________
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
  #4  
Old 06-27-2008, 06:30 AM
Nino Valenti's Avatar
Registered User

Builder: Valenti Basses
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Staten Island NYC
Send a message via AIM to Nino Valenti
Supporting Member
Forward that email to spoof@ebay.com and they will reply letting you know if it is real or a scam.

It may take a day or 2 to get a reply.

The transaction seems fake to me.
__________________
Builder: Valenti Basses
Bassist: Theorem and Glasshouses
Nino Valenti on YouTube
Be sure to "Like" Valenti Basses on FaceBook
  #5  
Old 06-27-2008, 09:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: On The Bayou
Sounds strange to me.
  #6  
Old 06-27-2008, 09:22 AM
fenderhutz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Harpers Ferry WV
Supporting Member
Scam,

I just got a similar hit on my Strat on craigslist.
  #7  
Old 06-27-2008, 09:40 AM
NJL NJL is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: West Side SA
CALL her and double check, but it sounds like a scam.

good luck!
__________________
"The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear"


Mark Wilson is the greatest
  #8  
Old 06-27-2008, 09:44 AM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
Dude, email addresses are extremely easy to forge. Do not believe any email just based on the return address shown. If the information is not shown on your Paypal account, then it is a scam and a fraud, and the email address was forged. It happens literally all the time.
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #9  
Old 06-27-2008, 09:45 AM
Hollow Man's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Send a message via AIM to Hollow Man
Supporting Member
Eh, I'm done with this one. Like I said, the two things I was concerned other was a possible new Paypal policy that required shipping confirmation before they'd credit my account with the payment, or the possibility of counterfeit Paypal payment emails floating around. Looks like it's the latter.

Thanks guys... always check your Paypal account before you ship!
__________________
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
  #10  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:59 AM
CTbass&birdsong's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: BASS Heaven !!!!
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollow Man View Post
Eh, I'm done with this one. Like I said, the two things I was concerned other was a possible new Paypal policy that required shipping confirmation before they'd credit my account with the payment, or the possibility of counterfeit Paypal payment emails floating around. Looks like it's the latter.

Thanks guys... always check your Paypal account before you ship!
Better safe than sorry.....check out the other recent craiglist scam, listed recently here , where a TBer here got burned for $1400 on a black Ric....I have advertised on craiglist and get an average of 2-3 scam responses a day !!!! Makes you wonder about todays society !!
__________________
Birdsong club #1



My bass family

Last edited by CTbass&birdsong : 06-27-2008 at 11:05 AM.
  #11  
Old 06-27-2008, 04:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Edinburgh & Dundee, Scotland
Not on your paypal account = not real IMO
__________________
EB Musicman/Ibanez/Ampeg/Peavey/Marshall/Tech 21
  #12  
Old 06-27-2008, 04:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Listowel/KW Ontario
I used paypal on Tuesday and they sent me the usual 50 emails to let me know what was going on.

lowsound
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by username n/a View Post
How is a picture of me feeling up a stranger music related?
  #13  
Old 06-27-2008, 07:41 PM
tplyons's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Madison, NJ
Supporting Member
Definitely fake. If the transaction exists in any stretch of the imagination, it will hold on your transaction history in a pending state. If it doesn't exist in history, it's fake.
__________________
- Timothy P. Lyons
Your Neighborhood Friendly Candyman
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.