|  | 
02-11-2008, 03:56 AM
| | Registered User Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp | | Join Date: Dec 2000 Location: England, Liverpool | | | www.telebid.com
Sign in to disble this ad
I've founda new auction site called www.telebid.com where PS3's, plasma tvs and other generally quite expensive stuff goes really cheap. The deal with it is you have to buy your bids which cost 50p each and when somebody bids the price just increases by 10p but the timer goes up as well. It all seems fairly legit, I was just wondering if anyone here has used it?
__________________
Warwick endorser - Matt Lawton, Eighth Day Army soundcloud.com/mattlawton
| 
02-11-2008, 07:11 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Lakeland, FL | | I think I have to take a P  | 
02-11-2008, 07:28 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: May 2003 Location: Leeds, UK | | | Definitely a scam.
__________________ When the seagulls follow the trawler, it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea. | 
02-11-2008, 09:27 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: College Station, Texas | | | I'm leaving. | 
02-11-2008, 08:48 PM
|  | The Lowdown Diggler | | Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Huntington Beach, CA | | | I'm too busy pooing in a cup. | 
02-11-2008, 09:38 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Kansas City, MO | | | Interesting system. The one winner MIGHT get a good deal, but all the losers pay Telebid for all their failed bids. A company that makes money off the losers sounds scummy to me. Too much like gambling.
EDIT: Ok, I just noticed that they're not only auctioning merchandise there, they're also auctioning things like "500 Euros in cash". So it's definitely no different than gambling! Yuck. Surely they're going to run into legal problems with that.
__________________
Lefty Union Member #11
Last edited by Vandelay : 02-11-2008 at 09:48 PM.
| 
02-11-2008, 10:33 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Apr 2004 Location: Augusta, GA & Saint Louis, MO | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Vandelay
EDIT: Ok, I just noticed that they're not only auctioning merchandise there, they're also auctioning things like "500 Euros in cash". So it's definitely no different than gambling! Yuck. Surely they're going to run into legal problems with that. | Interesting thing about those auctions is that you only have to pay the price of your bids (I.E.-the actual price doesn't matter). One auction for 500 pound is currently at 725 pound, with each bid increasing the price by .07 pound. Each bid costs .50 pound.
725 / .07 = 10357 bids
10357 bids * .50 = 5178.5 pound
Thats how much the company is making off an action for 500 pound.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
| 
02-12-2008, 02:24 AM
| | Registered User Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp | | Join Date: Dec 2000 Location: England, Liverpool | | | i knew it woluld be too good to be true lol
__________________
Warwick endorser - Matt Lawton, Eighth Day Army soundcloud.com/mattlawton
| 
02-12-2008, 03:14 AM
|  | Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor | | Join Date: Dec 1999 Location: Brighton, England, UK, Europe | | I never needed one auction site - I certainly don't need this ! 
__________________
“Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that's creativity.” Charles Mingus | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |