Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Double Bass Forums > Off Topic [DB]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Off Topic [DB] Any totally non-music-related discussion


Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:31 AM
mje mje is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Is this a TB Phishing attempt?

I just received an email containing the following:

"Your e-mail address is on our active subscriber mailing list. This subscription enables you to receive valuable e-mail newsletters, announcements, and other information from TalkBass.com.

We are using a new service to send out our mailing list, and the program requires that all of our subscribers reconfirm their subscriptions so that we can maintain a 100% permission-based mailing list. Please verify that you want to continue as an active subscriber (member) to the TalkBass.com mailing list.

Do not reply to this e-mail. Instead, follow the hyperlink to confirm your subscription to our mailing list...."

The hyperlink goes to app.quicksizzl.com, a mass mailing site.
Sign in to disble this ad
  #2  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:32 AM
stedtale's Avatar
... activating internal kill switch ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pig's Eye, MN (aka st. paul)
Supporting Member
Yeah, is it lagit? I just got it too.
__________________
Ramirez Club #9
Portaflex Club #284
  #3  
Old 04-04-2006, 10:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston, TX
I never received that email.
  #4  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:07 AM
hdiddy's Avatar
Official Forum Flunkee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Supporting Member
Yes, it's legit.

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showth...62#post2866962

You guys freaked me out there for a moment cause I clicked on the link before reading this thread and usually i'm pretty careful.
  #5  
Old 04-04-2006, 11:24 AM
mje mje is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
The list maintainers might want to post something about this before they send a bulk mail next time... I am rather suspicious of sites like the one they used.
  #6  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:58 PM
I'm absent from Talkbass for an indefinite period
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Québec, Canada
Supporting Member
This is legit.
Paul Determan, the board's owner and admin, wants to revive the newsletter so he sent that to cleanup the subscription list.
__________________
Due to health issues I'm on indefinite leave of absence from Talkbass.
Please get in touch with Chris Fitzgerald or other moderators for board-related issues.
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.