Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Effects [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Guildford / Exeter
Ebay scam?

Sign in to disble this ad
I made two bids on the Guyatone BR-2 which is currently on Ebay. Today I got two emails, on to my hotmail and one to my gmail, from the same email address. Here it is. Make your own decision.

Note that the auction is STILL RUNNING. There is about 24 hours left on the clock.

Quote:
from vibrezi@aol.com
to *******@gmail.com,
date Nov 12, 2007 8:15 PM
subject Re: eBay Item #280170611749: Guyatone BR2 BR-2 Bottom Wah Rocker Bass Guitar ...
mailed-by aol.com

hide details 8:15 PM (58 minutes ago)



Reply


Hello,

In order to make the transaction legit so we can be able to exchange feedback once completed i will have to get in touch with eBay Department. I will need to confirm me the following details:
* your complete name
* your complete shipping address
I'm located overseas for the moment, in Romania because my little brother is getting married and i couldn't miss this once in a life time moment. He found his true love over here in Romania. I have to stay here for at least two weeks.
Must inform you that I have the item in the custody of the shipping company who helps me very time to ship the goods to the buyers addresses. A 100% serious company and i have a contract with them. Regarding the shipping insurance,who protects my items from any damages on the way to the buyer, i can inform you that they are already paid.Shipping is covered by me so don't have to be worried to pay extra charges for delivery. So the final price will be US $60.00 !
Once you will provide me the requested details (full name, address) i will contact the eBay Department and they will do the rest. They will send you the rest of the instructions and info regarding this process. You need to follow the instructions exactly so we can be both protected by their Purchase Protection and Refund program. Positive feedback is assured once everything is fixed up.
Thank You and along with the requested details email me with any other questions you may have!!
__________________
| MTD | Aguilar amps and cabs |
MTD USA Club Member #14
Aguilar Club Member #93
  #2  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:19 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Union City, California
Send a message via AIM to meev992 Send a message via MSN to meev992 Send a message via Yahoo to meev992
ewwww scams!
  #3  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Michigan
absolutely. Report it to ebay.
  #4  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:30 PM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: Crook Custom Guitars
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wheeling WV
Send a message via AIM to mimaz
Forward the emails to spoof@ebay.com .

They will confirm for you that it's a scam.
  #5  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Guildford / Exeter
Thanks guys!
__________________
| MTD | Aguilar amps and cabs |
MTD USA Club Member #14
Aguilar Club Member #93
  #6  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Guildford / Exeter
It's a pretty retarded scam though... *Shakes head*
__________________
| MTD | Aguilar amps and cabs |
MTD USA Club Member #14
Aguilar Club Member #93
  #7  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: southeast Michigan
total scam
__________________
Lovin' the Low Life - Hal
  #8  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hudson County, New Jersey
Way too much details, who gives a rats A$$ about his little brother finding his true love and gettin married. Usually whenever I get an email from Ebayers they usually say they'll be out of town in a situation like that.

SCAM SCAM SCAM

So now we got nigerian and romanian scams?
__________________
Lefty Union Member #46, Fender Jazz Bass Club Memeber #170 SX Bass Club - Member in Good Standing
  #9  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Greater Sacramento CA area
scam
__________________
Mr. Freeze
"No Groove, No Food!"
Eden WT800C, D410XLT, D210XST
MTD Kingston Z5
  #10  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Guildford / Exeter
It's funny though, because it's obvious he's not American.
__________________
| MTD | Aguilar amps and cabs |
MTD USA Club Member #14
Aguilar Club Member #93
  #11  
Old 11-12-2007, 01:49 PM
Chazinroch's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rochester N.Y.
Supporting Member
Can you say S*C*A*M!!!!
__________________
Chuck

You don't stop playing music because you grow old. You grow old because you stop playing music!
  #12  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: DIXIE
To my knowledge ebay only communicates through ebay anymore so anything to an email address is not from ebay, so bogus regardless of the content. I immediately delete such emails without opeing them.
  #13  
Old 11-12-2007, 05:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
O.o sonofabitch, and I'm sitchin. Just shot him an email, I've been talking to the seller for 4 days I'm sure that's not him. If you want the sellers real email address send me a tell.

Tooltab guys are gonna kill me.

Oh, and I thought you deleted your ebay account
  #14  
Old 11-12-2007, 06:04 PM
Not Actually Knighted... Yet!
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Send a message via AIM to Sir Edward V
I got a paypal scam email about a month back, the one I got was WAY more believable though. If I weren't so smart, I would have succumb to it.

They said something about my account needing some sort of confirmation and linked me to some site that was made to look exactly like paypal, with some minor things out of place. I was lucky to catch it without giving any information.
__________________
Balls.
  #15  
Old 11-12-2007, 06:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I'm guessing your email addys are the same as your ebay ID, followed by @hotmail.com and @gmail.com. I recommend changing your ebay ID if this is the case. Pretty common scam tactic.
  #16  
Old 11-13-2007, 05:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
I want to make mention of this to preserve solewheel's (his name is Stephen BTW) integrity. Whatever scam attempt this was, it had nothing to do with him. He has kept in good contact, he was concerned when I told him about it. He gave me a tracking number upon request and sent me additional pictures of the pedal.

This seller is legit, and he's a reputable seller from what I've experienced so far.
  #17  
Old 11-13-2007, 05:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Actually, I just heard from the guy and he informed me that right before the wedding, his uncle in Nigeria was tragically killed, leaving a lot of money that needs to find a bank account... blah blah blah..
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.