Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Effects [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:37 AM
santucci218's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Send a message via AIM to santucci218
Supporting Member
I bidded on something on ebay. scam?

Sign in to disble this ad
The guys bid said he was in chicago, than i lost the bid.

He told me he had extras of the EBS multi comp pedal and he would sell me one for 125 shipped.

It sounded good, but than i got the invoice to my email and it says he is from romania!

im not so sure that im trusting this buy. Can i cancel it without getting negative feedback, or should i just not send him the money?

what do i do?
  #2  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester, U.K
Send a message via MSN to Max Roberts
Just don't do anything, don't pay. If he is a scammer which he probably is, he is very unlikely to leave bad feedback. If he does you can actually reply to it to tell people why they gave you it you.
__________________
My board
  #3  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manchester, U.K
Send a message via MSN to Max Roberts
Then again it could be totally genuine and you might miss out on a good price for a nice pedal
__________________
My board
  #4  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:42 AM
tommyr01's Avatar
Simma Down Nah !
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Supporting Member
THat smells of a SCAM to me. Can you report the auction to EBAY?. I guess I'd try that first. can you post up the auction number for us to look at? If you lost the bid or auction, was it a second chance offer that he gave you?
__________________
http://www.brokenromeo.com


Cuimhnich air na daoine o'n d'thaining thu
(Remember the men from whom you descended)


Μολὼν λάβε
  #5  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:43 AM
rodneyat's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Supporting Member
If you bid on an item and did not win it, you should not be worried about negative feedback from the guy. If I understand correctly, he is selling the item to you "outside" of Ebay. It sounds like the invoice is just a PayPal invoice. I would not worry about it, if you are concerned. Don't buy it, if you do not trust it.
__________________
Nordy/Bergantino/Aguilar/Gallien-Krueger
  #6  
Old 01-21-2008, 10:43 AM
kaputsport's Avatar
Registered User

Atypical, not a typical...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Carlisle, PA
Send a message via AIM to kaputsport
Supporting Member
I had a situation with a guy on ebay for an Akai Deep Impact.

It stated he was in Ohio, but I got a "Second Chance Offer" through my email. I told the guy that we would finish everything through ebay. He said sure, however, ebay showed no second chance offer... and there were 2 email addresses... from Italy and ohio...

I ran for cover as I reported him to the FBI...

Good Luck.
__________________
http://www.reverbnation.com/frictionbroadcast
Effects Addict #41
Pedulla Club Member #28
  #7  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:00 AM
JKT JKT is offline
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: Barker Basses
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buffalo NY
I was recently scammed on ebay along with about 6 or 7 other people during the holidays.

To make it worse I let myself get talked into not using paypal.
It was for a lot of dough too.

The scumbag lived in North Carolina

JKT
  #8  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:02 AM
santucci218's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Send a message via AIM to santucci218
Supporting Member
sorry to hear that JKT, but if it makes ya feel better your story may help me not get scammed!
  #9  
Old 01-21-2008, 11:06 AM
Registered User

Lead Designer, Zeibek Boutique Pedals
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hüstın, TX
NO! no!

First, check your eBay message inbox if you recieve an official second chance offer. IF you don't, then it is a scam.

Try contacting the seller via eBay's internal message system (contact seller button) and ask if s/he knows about this.

Many people got scammed with second chance offer fraud, including a customer of mine and it was exactly like you described.
__________________
www.zeibek.com
  #10  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:52 PM
EricF's Avatar
The older I get, the better I was.
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pasadena, CA
GOLD Supporting Member
The "second offer" scam is common. Don't fall for it unless you are 100% sure it's legit and through eBay.
  #11  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:02 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicelectronix View Post
NO! no!
First, check your eBay message inbox if you recieve an official second chance offer. IF you don't, then it is a scam.
+1
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
  #12  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:03 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKT View Post
I was recently scammed on ebay along with about 6 or 7 other people during the holidays.

To make it worse I let myself get talked into not using paypal.
It was for a lot of dough too.

The scumbag lived in North Carolina

JKT
If it's a lot of money, it would be worth it to get a lawyer in NC to serve this ass. You can get 3x the damages in cases like this and the lawyer often can convince a judge to garnish the scumbag's wages.
  #13  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wolfsberg/Austria
Send a message via ICQ to Terrorstorm
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricF View Post
The "second offer" scam is common. Don't fall for it unless you are 100% sure it's legit and through eBay.
Oh man... yeah. Bad memories come up again. Last July I got scammed with such an "second offer". Lost 1230 Euros ...I should have gotten an Ampeg SVT 2-Pro.
__________________
30 Hz. beLOW
  #14  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Listen

Please listen to everyone, they are right!!!! SCAM big time.
  #15  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:16 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: St. Peters, MO
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricF View Post
The "second offer" scam is common. Don't fall for it unless you are 100% sure it's legit and through eBay.
+1. I've been getting a lot of those lately, some before an auction I'm bidding on even ends.
__________________
Lake 32, Meteor Pilots
SX Club Member in Good Standing, Mediocre Bassist Club #111, G&L Club #280
http://www.youtube.com/lake32music
  #16  
Old 01-21-2008, 03:54 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
dont buy it! 125 is alot of money to lose! why would he put false information onto his account anyway? nothing but a scam.
  #17  
Old 01-21-2008, 04:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pietarsaari, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Stuggi Send a message via Skype™ to Stuggi
I sure hope this is a scam, since I don't want to know of any Romanians selling multicomps for 125 USD when I paid 175 € for mine last Friday to some German dude....
__________________
G&L Club Founder & Member #1 | SWR Mo'Bass Club #23 | Fender MIJ Club #54 | Yamaha Club #95 | Ampeg Club #154
  #18  
Old 01-21-2008, 04:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodburn, Oregon
Send a message via AIM to rfclef Send a message via Yahoo to rfclef
Scam scam scam scam scam scam scam scam

SCAMMY SCAM.... SCAMMADY SCAM!!!!

(bloody vikings....)
__________________
Bobby Rice, Bassist - Cry of Stones
check us out at cryofstones.com
  #19  
Old 01-21-2008, 05:17 PM
Smurf-o-Deth's Avatar
I hate.
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The state of denial.
Supporting Member
A reputable seller will go through ebay to offer a second chance at an item. You'll receive a message from ebay in your "My Ebay" message folder that looks like this:
__________________
I do everything for the children. Tasty, tasty children.

Last edited by Smurf-o-Deth : 01-21-2008 at 07:31 PM.
  #20  
Old 01-21-2008, 07:25 PM
bongomania's Avatar
OVNIFX

EXAR pedals rep for North & Central America
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PDX, OR
GOLD Supporting Member
Careful what you advise there Smurf!!!! A message from Ebay that is in the "My Messages" folder on Ebay when you log in is legitimate. An "email" that arrives in your regular email inbox is probably a fraud.
__________________
Compressor, preamp, and EQ FAQ <--read first!
Compressor reviews / My blog / Twitter / >> Instrument cable reviews <<
New Exar Bass Compressor coming in late June/early July!
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 AM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.