TalkBass Forums

TalkBass Forums (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/)
-   Effects [BG] (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f36/)
-   -   What am I looking for? (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f36/what-am-i-looking-1042840/)

Whammytap 01-02-2014 06:29 PM

What am I looking for?

Hi, all. I play five-string bass in a rock band that had a keyboard player until recently. The band has decided to go it as a three-piece, and it's been quite a while since I've had to fill that much space. Aside from playing busier, more melodic bass lines, I've been thinking of investing in an effect that will help me to this end, making my bass sound fuller and ideally more like a bass/rhythm guitar together.

Problem is, I don't know what I'm looking for. I've never used effects before. Well, there was that one cheap chorus pedal, but it didn't seem to do ANYthing, so I got rid of it. According to the list in the effects FAQ here, I might be looking for automatic double-tracking, chorus, harmonizer, or an octave divider. Does anyone else here have a similar situation and can offer a nickel's worth of free advice?

Or should I just switch to 12-string bass (gulp)?

skwee 01-02-2014 06:57 PM

A subtle change goes a long way. Perhaps you should listen to a variety of players and find a sound that you'd like as your alternate, then find the best way to make that other sound happen. Were I in this position, that's what I'd do.

tbear1776 01-02-2014 07:15 PM

I would have a few practice sessions with new format. Record songs and discuss with other players. Go from there,

JimmyM 01-03-2014 09:13 AM

If you listen to bass players in 3-pc bands in the old days, they didn't do much different live than they did in the studio where they could overdub. However, a nice overdrive pedal and an octaver can help some, especially if you don't want to pick up a 12-string. I'll sometimes use a Micro Pog for situations like that because you can make it sound sort of like a 12-string.

jimmybc91 01-03-2014 09:27 AM