Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Double Bass Forums > Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB] Discuss anything related to amplifying your double bass

Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Old 01-27-2014, 09:30 AM

Cool What do you like

Aloha Bottom dwellers,

I've been using a great Walter Woods for many years but I'm thinking of getting a good back-up for the eventual retirement of my trusty WW. What do you guys thing would be a good back-up/replacement? All opinions are cool and valid.

Cheers

Trey
Old 01-27-2014, 10:05 AM

Send a message via Skype™ to kscbass
Supporting Member
I never had the opportunity of trying a WW but I really like the Euphonic Audio stuff.
I've owned and played through GK, Ampeg, Eden, Phil Jones (this is my 2nd choice).
Old 01-27-2014, 10:29 AM

I used an old WW 2 channel for years, mainly as a power amp towards the end. I suggest you try an EA micro or doubler. I like mine. A head from AI is also worth a look (may be closer to the sound of the WW?).

There's a lot of new, small, and powerful stuff out there. I'm sure most of us haven't tried most of it.

Last edited by Eric Hochberg : 01-27-2014 at 10:31 AM.
Old 01-27-2014, 11:07 AM
Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Supporting Member
I've been quite happy with the EA Doubler as well.
Old 01-27-2014, 12:07 PM

Supporting Member
The new 2 channel AI Clarus head with the Flex pre seems like a safe bet. It's a bit spendy at just under a grand, but AI customer service is second to none and that initial investment should keep you happy for a very long time.
Old 01-27-2014, 12:12 PM