Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Luthier's Corner
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Luthier's Corner Discussion on instrument building, repair, and materials.

Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Old 06-25-2012, 10:09 PM

Epiphone EB-0 Project, 1st Refin! Advice needed...

Hey guys. I believe this is my first thread started in the Luthier's Corner, but I've been a longtime visitor and love the work you all do. I recently picked up a Korean Epi EB-0 at a local music store for super cheap, but it has a lot of cosmetic damage. Most of it is superficial and doesn't really bother me, but I've wanted a project for a while now so I've decided to strip it and stain it. But as I have no experience in this, I'm asking for a little advice.

I lucked up and found that the bass has a one-piece mahogany body, with a transparent red stain and a poly coating. From what I've gathered in my lurking on this forum, I think I'll try Citristrip to take off the poly coating. For the back of the neck, I plan on masking off the fingerboard and removing the neck from the body. I'm wondering whether or not the red stain will come off with this, or if I'll need to do some sanding when I get down there. Also, do I need to worry about the Citristrip weakening the glue that holds the fingerboard to the neck, or will proper masking eliminate that concern?

I plan on doing a matte oil-based stain, maybe with a little cherry or walnut tint to it, so I'm wondering what you guys would recommend for that as well.

I'll post more questions as they arise. And if pictures would help any of you with suggestions or anything, let me know and I'll try to get some up. Thanks in advance for the help TB'ers!!!
MTD USA Club Member #15
Bassists Who Still Have Their 1st Bass Club Member #45

Last edited by DRay521 : 06-27-2012 at 12:11 PM.
Old 06-27-2012, 11:06 AM