Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-06-2012, 04:38 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Supporting Member
Another strange eBay Jazz Bass

For the second time in the last couple of weeks two different sellers with 100% feedback have offered a rare Jazz Bass for a strangely low price. This one is a (left handed) 1964 with a BIN of 2000. Last week there was a 1969 with a BIN of 1000.which is now gone..They both ask you to contact them before bidding....Just curious about what`s going on. .http://www.ebay.com/itm/Fender-Jazz-...item3ccd14f490
  #2  
Old 12-06-2012, 06:30 PM
kellyrojo's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Carolina
Supporting Member
I dunno Nything about vintage fenders but that seems really cheap. Also, I can see it is in a music store so........weird???,!!!!
  #3  
Old 12-06-2012, 06:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: East Petersburg PA
Why are all of the close up pictures of the back of the bass? Very shady.
  #4  
Old 12-06-2012, 06:44 PM
Pokerdweebz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lancaster, PA
Supporting Member
I don't know but I'm less than an hour from there. I should go steal it.
__________________
PA Bassists Club #93 Schecter Owner's Club #328
  #5  
Old 12-06-2012, 06:52 PM
mjac28's Avatar
Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
GOLD Supporting Member
It's a lefty
__________________
Ohio Bassists Club # 230
Mark Hoppus Bass Club #3
Honorary Wisconsin Bassist Member #10
Fuzzrocious Club #134
Variax Bass Club #2
Club Verellen #3
Fender Cowpoke Club #36
Lone Wolf Club #5
  #6  
Old 12-06-2012, 06:56 PM
Pokerdweebz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lancaster, PA
Supporting Member
I'm a lefty haha
__________________
PA Bassists Club #93 Schecter Owner's Club #328
  #7  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:22 PM
clbolt's Avatar
Texan In Exile
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Supporting Member
It's a scam using a hijacked ebay account and stolen pics. Last week he was using the ebay ID "alluwant57" and the same email address.
__________________
"...And to see you're really only very small, and life flows on within you and without you..." George Harrison

Quote:
Originally Posted by DethByDoom View Post
I vote you throw in a bottle opener.
  #8  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I confirm the scam. The 1964 bass in the picture was recently purchased by Yves Carbonne. The scammer is just using the picture.
  #9  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:31 PM
michael_atw's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jamestown, NY
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by clbolt View Post
It's a scam using a hijacked ebay account and stolen pics. Last week he was using the ebay ID "alluwant57" and the same email address.
Yep. They've been running them for years. Easy to spot.

First, it's too good to be true.
Second, often they are broken English.
Third, they tell you to contact them and make a deal off Ebay.


Ebay removes them as quick as they pop up. I've seen multiples of 20 or more pop up at one time of the same bass. Just report 'em.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by two fingers View Post
I imagine playing that thing is like having several girlfriends at once. It probably seemed like fun at first but........
  #10  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:33 PM
michael_atw's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jamestown, NY
Supporting Member
Note the answer to the question at the bottom.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by two fingers View Post
I imagine playing that thing is like having several girlfriends at once. It probably seemed like fun at first but........
  #11  
Old 12-07-2012, 03:39 PM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: Fender Basses, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shore, Massachusetts
The same seller ID had a bunch of vintage Fender basses and Gibson guitars listed at ridiculously low prices. One was for a 1972 Les Paul Goldtop for $40. Another was a 1964 Jazz for $60. All the ads have been removed.
__________________
"If you don't want the truth don't ask. Make up your own like everyone else does". (Michael Pare as Eddie Wilson/Joe West in Eddie and The Cruisers II).
  #12  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:28 PM
michael_atw's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jamestown, NY
Supporting Member
^ Happens regularly. They try to rope people into making deals off Ebay - so they can run away with the money with no recourse.

See how it says "Don't bid, email us!"
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by two fingers View Post
I imagine playing that thing is like having several girlfriends at once. It probably seemed like fun at first but........
  #13  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:37 PM
Herrick's Avatar
Hello Mangs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Munchkin Land
Supporting Member
Just out of curiosity, what was the price?
__________________
DISPLAY thy Breasts, my Julia!
  #14  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:38 PM
mjac28's Avatar
Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
GOLD Supporting Member
Someone caught on to them ad has been deleted
__________________
Ohio Bassists Club # 230
Mark Hoppus Bass Club #3
Honorary Wisconsin Bassist Member #10
Fuzzrocious Club #134
Variax Bass Club #2
Club Verellen #3
Fender Cowpoke Club #36
Lone Wolf Club #5
  #15  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:40 PM
mjac28's Avatar
Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
GOLD Supporting Member
64 dollars starting bid and no reserve? and people laughed at me for investing in a unicorn ranch.
__________________
Ohio Bassists Club # 230
Mark Hoppus Bass Club #3
Honorary Wisconsin Bassist Member #10
Fuzzrocious Club #134
Variax Bass Club #2
Club Verellen #3
Fender Cowpoke Club #36
Lone Wolf Club #5
  #16  
Old 12-07-2012, 04:43 PM
Herrick's Avatar
Hello Mangs
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Munchkin Land
Supporting Member
Thanks, Mac28. Yeah that's extremely suspicious. I hope no one falls for any future scams from that scammer.
__________________
DISPLAY thy Breasts, my Julia!
  #17  
Old 12-07-2012, 05:03 PM
mjac28's Avatar
Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion.
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
GOLD Supporting Member
It's only going to get worse I feel sorry for the person who doesn't have experience and tries to buy a vintage instrument as a gift.
__________________
Ohio Bassists Club # 230
Mark Hoppus Bass Club #3
Honorary Wisconsin Bassist Member #10
Fuzzrocious Club #134
Variax Bass Club #2
Club Verellen #3
Fender Cowpoke Club #36
Lone Wolf Club #5
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 PM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.