TalkBass Forums

TalkBass Forums (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/)
-   Basses [BG] (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   cheapguitars.com (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/cheapguitars-com-955955/)

RADIOBASS&BEARS 02-06-2013 03:13 PM

cheapguitars.com
 
1 Attachment(s)
I just found a website called:

[url]www.cheapestguitar.com [url]

I found a wood RICKENBACKER 4 STRING BASS for only $539.00 I added the pic to this message, below. CHECK IT OUT!

I emailed the company and they said they aren't the REAL GUITARS, they are excellent copies.

Hmmmm, I looked at the bass, looks legit.

Did you ever order a guitar from CHEAP GUITARS.COM?

If so, what is your thought about their quality of the guitar.

I would love to buy a REAL ONE, just that kind of $ is tough to allocate right now with having a family.

THANKS AHEAD OF TIME!

254 stringer 02-06-2013 03:29 PM

Nothing about that looks legit

RADIOBASS&BEARS 02-06-2013 03:45 PM

SO?
 
Save for the real thing....?

smcd 02-06-2013 03:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RADIOBASS&BEARS (Post 13841117)
Save for the real thing....?

You'll never be happy with a Chinese copy. Save yourself the disappointment and buy a real one when you have the cash.

Chef 02-06-2013 03:48 PM

that web address takes me to a domain registry website.

wideload 02-06-2013 03:49 PM

I'd trust a Squier LONG before I'd drop anything on that. If it's the shape you want, just break out the bandsaw and add an Allparts neck and save even more! Just the opinion of an anonymous internet source.

CBNJ 02-06-2013 03:55 PM

The Chinese copies are tempting me again..

funkingroovin 02-06-2013 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chef (Post 13841132)
that web address takes me to a domain registry website.

same here

chuck norriss 02-06-2013 04:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RADIOBASS&BEARS (Post 13840943)
I just found a website called:

[url]www.cheapestguitar.com [url]

I found a wood RICKENBACKER 4 STRING BASS for only $539.00 I added the pic to this message, below. CHECK IT OUT!

I emailed the company and they said they aren't the REAL GUITARS, they are excellent copies.

Hmmmm, I looked at the bass, looks legit.

Did you ever order a guitar from CHEAP GUITARS.COM?

If so, what is your thought about their quality of the guitar.

I would love to buy a REAL ONE, just that kind of $ is tough to allocate right now with having a family.

THANKS AHEAD OF TIME!

I wouldn't. And 539 isn't all that cheap--for what, a chinese knock-off? That puzzle piece body is hideous.

mpdd 02-06-2013 04:32 PM

my nos fender highway one p was 550 and i sold it to gc for 480 on trade, just to give you a comparison

TolerancEJ 02-06-2013 04:34 PM

Not interested.

elgecko 02-06-2013 04:35 PM

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/sup...buying-671900/

petrus61 02-06-2013 04:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck norriss (Post 13841231)
I wouldn't. And 539 isn't all that cheap--for what, a chinese knock-off? That puzzle piece body is hideous.

This^^^

KramerBassFan 02-06-2013 04:46 PM

Don't bother, guy on another forum got one of those guitars (not a RIC but still) and he was sorely disappointed with it.

Another guy ordered one, and the "company" kept emailing him telling him the guitar was out of stock, and they would send it "soon".

He got a refund.

TolerancEJ 02-06-2013 04:52 PM

If you want low priced guitars, stick with Rondo. You already know what you're going to get from them. Who knows? If someone asks Kurt really nice, he might be able to arrange for an order of budget-priced Ric-copies.

RADIOBASS&BEARS 02-08-2013 12:04 PM

Opps, it should be www.thecheapestguitar.com

Buslady7803 02-08-2013 12:21 PM

Looks cheesy

mmbongo 02-08-2013 12:31 PM

You can get a good bass for that kind of money, why waste it on some crap?

Chico16 02-08-2013 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mmbongo (Post 13850729)
You can get a good bass for that kind of money, why waste it on some crap?

Exactly. $500 is a perfect budget limit for good bass guitars out there

progrmr 02-08-2013 12:44 PM

He wants that Ric shape - I get it. I purchased a guitar from a Chinese copy place (a Gibsun Les Paul Supreme) and honestly I got a really nice guitar for the $$$...granted, it wasn't anything near a real LP Supreme but I got 80% of one for $400!

Even the luthier I took it too said he was surprised at the build quality.

That said, it was a total risk - I got dinged extra customs fee and you just never know once you pay (although the place I used took paypal).

Overall - it was an interesting experiment but I won't go that route again. I like the Ric style but if I really want one bad enough I'll save up for it.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.