Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Galena, AK
Send a message via Yahoo to RADIOBASS&BEARS Send a message via Skype™ to RADIOBASS&BEARS
cheapguitars.com

I just found a website called:

[url]www.cheapestguitar.com [url]

I found a wood RICKENBACKER 4 STRING BASS for only $539.00 I added the pic to this message, below. CHECK IT OUT!

I emailed the company and they said they aren't the REAL GUITARS, they are excellent copies.

Hmmmm, I looked at the bass, looks legit.

Did you ever order a guitar from CHEAP GUITARS.COM?

If so, what is your thought about their quality of the guitar.

I would love to buy a REAL ONE, just that kind of $ is tough to allocate right now with having a family.

THANKS AHEAD OF TIME!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rickenbacker-wooden-color-4-string-bass-guitar.jpg
Views:	302
Size:	65.9 KB
ID:	316176  
  #2  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:29 PM
254 stringer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waco Texas
Supporting Member
Nothing about that looks legit
  #3  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Galena, AK
Send a message via Yahoo to RADIOBASS&BEARS Send a message via Skype™ to RADIOBASS&BEARS
SO?

Save for the real thing....?
  #4  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:48 PM
smcd's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by RADIOBASS&BEARS View Post
Save for the real thing....?
You'll never be happy with a Chinese copy. Save yourself the disappointment and buy a real one when you have the cash.
  #5  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:48 PM
Chef's Avatar
Smile more, ok?

Staff Reviewer; Bass Gear Magazine
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Columbia MO
Supporting Member
that web address takes me to a domain registry website.
__________________
"Boy, that makes about as much sense as putting a milk bucket under a bull-cow and expecting to come home with breakfast."
  #6  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I'd trust a Squier LONG before I'd drop anything on that. If it's the shape you want, just break out the bandsaw and add an Allparts neck and save even more! Just the opinion of an anonymous internet source.
  #7  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
The Chinese copies are tempting me again..
__________________
U.S. Peavey Club Member #302
  #8  
Old 02-06-2013, 03:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Northern Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chef View Post
that web address takes me to a domain registry website.
same here
  #9  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:04 PM
chuck norriss's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by RADIOBASS&BEARS View Post
I just found a website called:

[url]www.cheapestguitar.com [url]

I found a wood RICKENBACKER 4 STRING BASS for only $539.00 I added the pic to this message, below. CHECK IT OUT!

I emailed the company and they said they aren't the REAL GUITARS, they are excellent copies.

Hmmmm, I looked at the bass, looks legit.

Did you ever order a guitar from CHEAP GUITARS.COM?

If so, what is your thought about their quality of the guitar.

I would love to buy a REAL ONE, just that kind of $ is tough to allocate right now with having a family.

THANKS AHEAD OF TIME!
I wouldn't. And 539 isn't all that cheap--for what, a chinese knock-off? That puzzle piece body is hideous.
  #10  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:32 PM
mpdd's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Supporting Member
my nos fender highway one p was 550 and i sold it to gc for 480 on trade, just to give you a comparison
  #11  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:34 PM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: No. (I wish) lol
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Not interested.
__________________
TB Clubs and Gear listed in my profile.
  #12  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anasleim, CA
SUPER CHEAP Chinese Rickenbacker... Worth Buying?
  #13  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:42 PM
petrus61's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hudson Valley, NY
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck norriss View Post
I wouldn't. And 539 isn't all that cheap--for what, a chinese knock-off? That puzzle piece body is hideous.
This^^^
__________________
Official Fender Precision Bass Club #881, Gallien Krueger Official Club #921, N.Y. Bassists Club #52
  #14  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Don't bother, guy on another forum got one of those guitars (not a RIC but still) and he was sorely disappointed with it.

Another guy ordered one, and the "company" kept emailing him telling him the guitar was out of stock, and they would send it "soon".

He got a refund.
__________________
Kramer Club #10
  #15  
Old 02-06-2013, 04:52 PM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: No. (I wish) lol
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
If you want low priced guitars, stick with Rondo. You already know what you're going to get from them. Who knows? If someone asks Kurt really nice, he might be able to arrange for an order of budget-priced Ric-copies.
__________________
TB Clubs and Gear listed in my profile.
  #16  
Old 02-08-2013, 12:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Galena, AK
Send a message via Yahoo to RADIOBASS&BEARS Send a message via Skype™ to RADIOBASS&BEARS
Opps, it should be www.thecheapestguitar.com
  #17  
Old 02-08-2013, 12:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Up the street from Fender...
Looks cheesy
__________________
Buslady7803
aka Lady Warwick, proud owner of Warco: a 2002 Corvette + Warwick BC80 Amp
  #18  
Old 02-08-2013, 12:31 PM
mmbongo's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate, South Carolina
Supporting Member
You can get a good bass for that kind of money, why waste it on some crap?
__________________
Brubaker Brute Squad #18
Spector Club #224 (USA NS-5MM, NS-2J)


For Sale!
Lakland 4401
Mackie Onyx 1220i
  #19  
Old 02-08-2013, 12:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Yuma, Az
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmbongo View Post
You can get a good bass for that kind of money, why waste it on some crap?
Exactly. $500 is a perfect budget limit for good bass guitars out there
  #20  
Old 02-08-2013, 12:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
He wants that Ric shape - I get it. I purchased a guitar from a Chinese copy place (a Gibsun Les Paul Supreme) and honestly I got a really nice guitar for the $$$...granted, it wasn't anything near a real LP Supreme but I got 80% of one for $400!

Even the luthier I took it too said he was surprised at the build quality.

That said, it was a total risk - I got dinged extra customs fee and you just never know once you pay (although the place I used took paypal).

Overall - it was an interesting experiment but I won't go that route again. I like the Ric style but if I really want one bad enough I'll save up for it.
__________________
The Christian Praise and Worship Band Bassists Club #590, Ohio Bassists Club #153, Squier Classic Vibe Club #71
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 PM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.