|  | | 
08-03-2012, 06:51 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Charlotte NC | | | Chinese Bass! Bought a Chinese "Precision Bass" has correct looking "made in USA" decal, body binding, good neck and low action out of the box (or, rather, out oif the fiberglass cocoon!
For $250, really nice.
frets were not dressed
That's about all the negatives I have.
Put DR blacks on it, and blocks (stick on) on the fingerboard.
Very pleased overall!
Will probably put in a SD Quarter Pounder.
OH- I like jazz width necks and this Precision has one! | 
08-03-2012, 08:46 AM
|  | Registered User Endorsing Artist: Brubaker Guitars | | | | You should have visited rondo music. You could have gotten a proven quality chinese made bass for them for a lot less. www.rondomusic.com
__________________
Brubaker Brute Squad #24|Tecamp Amplification Club
Geddy Lee Jazz Club #174| Black and Maple#414
| 
08-03-2012, 09:13 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Dec 2011 Location: St Louis, Mo | | | pics or it didn't happen
__________________
Yamaha BB Club #37 - Electra Westone Club #22
| 
08-03-2012, 09:18 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Jul 2012 Location: Good ol' Atlantic Canada | | Quote:
Originally Posted by phillybass101 You should have visited rondo music. You could have gotten a proven quality chinese made bass for them for a lot less. www.rondomusic.com | Hey, do those guys ship to Canada? Looks interesting.
--Silvie | 
08-03-2012, 09:18 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: Central Pa. | | |
__________________
“If you are not building your dream then simply someone else has hired you to build theirs”
| 
08-03-2012, 09:48 AM
|  | Headphones Always On! | | Join Date: Mar 2011 Location: Dallas, TX | | Wait... do I see correctly? 4003 copy for only $323? Looks nice, wonder how it plays. http://www.aliexpress.com/product-fm...olesalers.html
__________________ Fender Active Precision Bass Special | 
08-03-2012, 09:56 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Austin, TX | | Quote:
Originally Posted by PBnJBassist | These sights often have pictures of the real deal. They then send you a low quality copy, if you're lucky enough for them to not run off with your money altogether.
And what recourse would you have? You were buying counterfeit goods. | 
08-03-2012, 10:31 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: May 2008 Location: Pittsburgh, PA | | I used to believe that handyman, until I was torn a new ***hole by this guy who bought a lot of them..all copies, all legit ( what he saw is what they sent )
al he was trying to do was remind everyone that although a ton of ripoff Chinese sellers are out there, yes some ARE legit. Basically for around 2grand, he bought 7 of them... 
. | 
08-03-2012, 10:46 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Austin, TX | | Quote:
Originally Posted by amimbari I used to believe that handyman, until I was torn a new ***hole by this guy who bought a lot of them..all copies, all legit ( what he saw is what they sent )
al he was trying to do was remind everyone that although a ton of ripoff Chinese sellers are out there, yes some ARE legit. Basically for around 2grand, he bought 7 of them... | For a given definition of "legit".
Just keep in mind that buying from these guys is riskier than doing business with Guitar Center. Even if the guy on the other end is holding up his end of the bargain, these things have been known to be seized by customs. These things (especially if they have some other maker's name on them), are illegal to sell in the US, after all. | 
08-03-2012, 11:11 AM
|  | Headphones Always On! | | Join Date: Mar 2011 Location: Dallas, TX | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyman These sights often have pictures of the real deal. They then send you a low quality copy, if you're lucky enough for them to not run off with your money altogether.
And what recourse would you have? You were buying counterfeit goods. | Yeah, I figured as much when I saw this: http://www.aliexpress.com/product-fm...olesalers.html
I know that's not a legitimate MIA Fender...
__________________ Fender Active Precision Bass Special | 
08-03-2012, 11:45 AM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: May 2008 Location: Pittsburgh, PA | | Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyman For a given definition of "legit".
Just keep in mind that buying from these guys is riskier than doing business with Guitar Center. Even if the guy on the other end is holding up his end of the bargain, these things have been known to be seized by customs. These things (especially if they have some other maker's name on them), are illegal to sell in the US, after all. | oh i'm not saying there is no risk involved, they are not the blatant ric copies with the MIA TR covers, no names on his units at all, and yes, although he got what he paid for that certainly don't mean you or me won't get ripped off. He was just presenting a Chinese seller to the thread that the items were what he saw in the pics, and all the units were shipped with no problems. | 
08-03-2012, 11:53 AM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: VA | | | So what do they sound like?? Cheap electronics? what kind of pickups, preamp, etc?
Puma
__________________
LW Gold Standard 5|Carvin SB5000|2002 Fender Jazz (DiMarzio UltraJ Pickups, BAII bridge)|Fender MIM Precision (SD pickup high mass bridge|Aguilar Tone Hammer 500 |Aguilar GS 112 & GS 112NT | 
08-03-2012, 12:00 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Dec 2011 Location: St Louis, Mo | | | still haven't seen a pic of this correct looking P-bass
No pics, no bass.
__________________
Yamaha BB Club #37 - Electra Westone Club #22
| 
08-03-2012, 12:03 PM
|  | Registered User | | | | | Why would anyone buy a cheap piece of crap like that?
Reminds me a lot of the cheap Callaway, Ping and Taylormade copy golf sets a few of my friends have bought from China. The shafts are unhittable and undersized, a magnet will stick to the 'titanium' heads and hitting a golf ball with them properly is darn near impossible.
However I do make a little dough fixing them whenever one of the heads flies off :-)
__________________
Squier MusicMaster Vista Club Member #1
| 
08-03-2012, 12:07 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Apr 2010 Location: West Babylon, New York | | | Where are the friggin' pics?
__________________
Fender Jazz Bass #922 * Grabber/Ripper/G-3 #58 * Hartke #300 * NY Bassists #37 * Schecter #314
| 
08-03-2012, 12:43 PM
| | Registered User | | Join Date: Mar 2010 Location: Baltimore, MD | | Quote:
Originally Posted by amimbari I used to believe that handyman, until I was torn a new ***hole by this guy who bought a lot of them..all copies, all legit ( what he saw is what they sent )
al he was trying to do was remind everyone that although a ton of ripoff Chinese sellers are out there, yes some ARE legit. Basically for around 2grand, he bought 7 of them... 
. | Do you know where he got those from? I've been gassing for a ric copy, but I don't want one with all the fake RIC stuff, and serials on it. And I don't wanna overpay for a dubious 70s copy of eBay. Plus, having something shiny and new would be nice | 
08-03-2012, 01:21 PM
|  | Registered User | | | | | Purchasing these instruments is participation in the theft of intellectual property. It's your conscience, but there is more involved here than the risk of getting a crappy bass. | 
08-03-2012, 01:51 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Charlotte NC | | | pics precision bass copy | 
08-03-2012, 01:52 PM
|  | Registered User | | Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Charlotte NC | | | precision bass pics | 
08-03-2012, 01:55 PM
|  | Registered User Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products | | Join Date: Oct 2000 Location: New York City | | | Something seems terribly wrong here. | | Thread Tools | Search this Thread | | | |
Posting Rules
| You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts HTML code is Off | | | |