Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-21-2013, 12:22 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
How can this be legit??

http://www.tradetang.com/for-sale/40...3-2391091.html

Would you order? Or just throw your money in the fireplace?
__________________
Lone Wolf Club #32 Canadian Club #220, Tricked out Squier Club # 149, Black n' Maple Club #480, Rumble Club #18, 5 String Club 578
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 12:24 AM
Rockin Mike's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Supporting Member
It is not legit. Those are cheap counterfeits.
__________________
Spector club #243, Rickenbacker #487, Country Bassist #18
  #3  
Old 01-21-2013, 01:14 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Poland
I would not buy it. And what took my attention is that all pictures were made with poor light, so you can't see the details of guitar and maybe it's poorly finished.
  #4  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
And it doesn't actually say anywhere that it's a Rickenbacker, nor is there a photo of the logo on the headstock...
__________________
"Bass players will soon become the standing armies of the world protecting their nations with the latest sub-harmonic weaponry" -Dann Glenn Sadowsky #426
  #5  
Old 01-21-2013, 02:52 AM
SoVeryTired's Avatar
Endorsing nothing, recommending much
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Supporting Member
It's a legitimate Rickenfaker.
__________________
Praise & Worship #975, 5-String #553, ACG Club, Squier Owners Club

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unrepresented View Post
If we communicated with the people around us the internet would be much more boring.
  #6  
Old 01-21-2013, 03:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
For more cheap counterfeits : alibaba.com and type basses in the search bar.
  #7  
Old 01-21-2013, 05:55 AM
BoomBoomOGTL's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SC. Where everything is fried!
Supporting Member
..and typically these pacific rim companies will host pictures of the authentic instruments, and what you get in the mail will of course be a cheap fake that is nothing like the guitar featured on the website...
  #8  
Old 01-21-2013, 08:07 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tennessee
Supporting Member
Teeny pictures with watermarks covering the center of the image? Works for me.
  #9  
Old 01-21-2013, 08:10 AM
M Sterling's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Supporting Member
Well, I don't know about you but I don't need to see the front of the headstock to determine a guitar's legitimacy!

Wait, oh...yes I do, never mind.
  #10  
Old 01-21-2013, 08:14 AM
Rockin Mike's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Supporting Member
Has anybody ordered one of these and wants to tell the story?
__________________
Spector club #243, Rickenbacker #487, Country Bassist #18
  #11  
Old 01-21-2013, 09:12 AM
C.Linton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chester, Pa.,USA
Supporting Member
This again? These are totally bogus, and if you are fool enough to order one, then you deserve what you get (or don't get, as the case may be).
__________________
You can call me ...Cliff.
"If I could walk that way, I wouldn't need the talcum powder."
  #12  
Old 01-21-2013, 09:13 AM
C.Linton's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chester, Pa.,USA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockin Mike View Post
Has anybody ordered one of these and wants to tell the story?
I know I certainly wouldn't admit to buying one. I'd hate for people to realize how stupid I was for doing so.
__________________
You can call me ...Cliff.
"If I could walk that way, I wouldn't need the talcum powder."
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 PM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.