Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:45 PM
funk generator's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Supporting Member
The newest from Fodera

Found these lovely creations on ebay. Anyone seen these new "Fodera basses"? Looks to be Legit.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Pre-Owned-On...item2577a96861

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Pre-Owned-On...item2577aa2d02
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyM View Post
Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go pass out Ampeg catalogs to my neighbors.
  #2  
Old 12-22-2012, 11:59 PM
Mark Wilson's Avatar
Moderator

Endorsing Artist: Levy's Leathers
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto/Niagara Falls, Ontario
Supporting Member
I don't think there's a high chance in hell those are legit...
__________________
Mark Wilson's Myspace

Mark Wilson's Twitter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric618 View Post
Mark Wilson is so dreamy.
  #3  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:01 AM
JimmyM's Avatar
Registered User

Endorsing: Ampeg
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Apopka, FL
Supporting Member
This is one for Just Thumpin'. That looks like a ladybug on the headstock of the 12, and I've never once seen that on a Fodera.
__________________
Ampeg Portaflex Club #1
  #4  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:05 AM
funk generator's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Supporting Member
I probably should have emailed him to let him know about these. But he normally finds his way into fodera threads pretty quickly The ladybug on the headstock gave me a good laugh.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyM View Post
Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go pass out Ampeg catalogs to my neighbors.
  #5  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Puebla, México.
Send a message via Skype™ to Draculea
Not legit IMHO. Even the bass, which has a similar shape to an authentic Fodera, does not seem to be the real deal, it lacks the butterfly logo on the headstock, and that finish just doesn't seem to add up.
  #6  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hunt. Co., New Jersey
i get a queezy feeling looking at those links
__________________
I like Heavy Coffee table basses, Ceramic Tens, and big transformers. So shoot me.
Official Wood Matters Club Member #1
Spector Club # 206
Warwick Club # ??
Genz Benz Club # 287
  #7  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:22 AM
Bassconbeatz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Porter Ranch, CA
Supporting Member
I'd say they're legit. I think the GTR shop is an authorized Fodera seller.
__________________
Sadowsky Club# 265
Fbass Club# 158
Fender Jazz Club# 253
Mike Lull Club #38
LOG# 382
LEJ Club# 20
"MTD CLUB #30"
MM Stingray Club# 45
Warwick Club# 319
  #8  
Old 12-23-2012, 05:23 AM
TRichardsbass's Avatar
Registered User

Manager, Brubaker Brute Series Basses
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Real Jersey Shore
GOLD Supporting Member
Go to GTRStore.com and you will find them there. Steve and the gang at GTRStore are legit. They have a great selection as well.

Tom
__________________
TOM RICHARDS
F CLEF LLC

Brubaker Brute Club #23
NJ Bassist Club #101.5
  #9  
Old 12-23-2012, 06:33 AM
BuffaloBass's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: conditional upon harmonic Hz
Supporting Member
Man, they are excessively expensive, aint they? Recently heard a Fodera bass on stage, and it was much less than impressive sound wise, which makes one wonder.
__________________
"With the power of Soul, anything is possible." JMH
People's revolution anyone?
The Modern Whigs
  #10  
Old 12-23-2012, 06:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: East Petersburg PA
They also have a used Fodera double neck left handed tele. 5 string bass on top, 6 string guitar on the bottom. Only $5k...
  #11  
Old 12-23-2012, 07:09 AM
Immigrant's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West of Stumptown, USA
Supporting Member
I agree with the posts about GTRStore. They have been pimping Fodera wares in Bassplayer Mag.

I find most Foderii attractive, but those aren't aesthetically pleasing IMO.
  #12  
Old 12-23-2012, 07:56 AM
Baird6869's Avatar
All bass, no talent!

Me endorsed?
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Supporting Member
Legit.

Jason mentioned there was a time (before he joined the company) that Fodera would make a bass without the butterfly logo. They no longer will do this.
__________________
Fodera l Fender
Jule Monique l Bergantino
  #13  
Old 12-23-2012, 08:02 AM
Baird6869's Avatar
All bass, no talent!

Me endorsed?
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuffaloBass View Post
Man, they are excessively expensive, aint they? Recently heard a Fodera bass on stage, and it was much less than impressive sound wise, which makes one wonder.
I thought so too.... Until I played a couple.

Best way to avoid placing an order for a $5-10k Fofera IMO? DO NOT play one!
__________________
Fodera l Fender
Jule Monique l Bergantino
  #14  
Old 12-23-2012, 08:21 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I checked out fodera's site to see if GTRstore is an official dealer and to my surprise, they are - http://www.fodera.com/PublicPages/FoderaDealers.aspx
Seems like those two are just weird looking customs
__________________
Mediocre Bassist Club #869/SX Club Member in Good Standing
  #15  
Old 12-23-2012, 08:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Legit or not, does anyone else think they're really silly?
  #16  
Old 12-23-2012, 08:44 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: S.W. Ohio
Supporting Member
The seafoam green one weighs 20 lbs!!
  #17  
Old 12-23-2012, 09:01 AM
Baird6869's Avatar
All bass, no talent!

Me endorsed?
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by renyzen View Post
I checked out fodera's site to see if GTRstore is an official dealer and to my surprise, they are - http://www.fodera.com/PublicPages/FoderaDealers.aspx
Seems like those two are just weird looking customs
And they are not new though.....
__________________
Fodera l Fender
Jule Monique l Bergantino
  #18  
Old 12-23-2012, 09:51 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Call me crazy, but that seafoam green 12 looks killer.
  #19  
Old 12-23-2012, 10:18 AM
Baird6869's Avatar
All bass, no talent!

Me endorsed?
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by N.F.A. View Post
The seafoam green one weighs 20 lbs!!
More info on this bass in the Fodera thread. It isn't 20lbs.
__________________
Fodera l Fender
Jule Monique l Bergantino
  #20  
Old 12-23-2012, 11:22 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Lesser View Post
Call me crazy, but that seafoam green 12 looks killer.

Seafoam always looks killer. That's why I got one of these in seafoam green. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guita...lectric-guitar



And with the money I saved from buying a Fodera I can buy 37 more. : )
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 PM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.