Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-24-2012, 06:42 AM
Rip Topaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Willow Street, PA
Send a message via AIM to Rip Topaz
Supporting Member
OMG WOW!!

I can't afford it, but I REALLY wish I could!!

http://allentown.craigslist.org/msg/3401319901.html
  #2  
Old 11-24-2012, 06:46 AM
metalinthenight's Avatar
GO VEGAN!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Supporting Member
  #3  
Old 11-24-2012, 06:47 AM
Rip Topaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Willow Street, PA
Send a message via AIM to Rip Topaz
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalinthenight
My exact reaction. I've never seen a '59 in that good of shape.
  #4  
Old 11-24-2012, 07:40 AM
Immigrant's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West of Stumptown, USA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rip Topaz View Post
My exact reaction. I've never seen a '59 in that good of shape.
That's the finest specimen I've ever seen! Someone's gonna get a nice bass!
  #5  
Old 11-24-2012, 07:42 AM
Rip Topaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Willow Street, PA
Send a message via AIM to Rip Topaz
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Immigrant

That's the finest specimen I've ever seen! Someone's gonna get a nice bass!
If it would've shown up last year, it would be mine. Unfortunately, this year it ain't happening.
  #6  
Old 11-24-2012, 07:51 AM
Jwood's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: VIRGINIA
Supporting Member
That's a really nice bass.
  #7  
Old 11-24-2012, 07:56 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saginaw, MI
I hate to be a pessimist here.....but probably a scam!

I sent
them an offer.
__________________
MoMark Club #1MB800 #1
MarkBass#297 FretlessClub#561
Warwick Club#329 Acoustic#258
Rickenbacker, GK Club#729,Spector#222
CrappyBassist w/ExpensiveGear #2
Hollowbody Club#331SquireJagSS Club#3

Last edited by StereoPlayer : 11-24-2012 at 07:59 AM.
  #8  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:00 AM
michael_atw's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Jamestown, NY
Supporting Member
I love how short the description is for a $24k bass.

Also, no phone number.


I remember in one of the other "is this a vintage Fender?" threads everyone bugging about taking the neck off. This guy did it after lunch.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by two fingers View Post
I imagine playing that thing is like having several girlfriends at once. It probably seemed like fun at first but........
  #9  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:12 AM
Immigrant's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West of Stumptown, USA
Supporting Member
Holy crap! I must've glossed over that when I looked at the ad the first time. Is that a fair price for a vintage Fender in that shape? Is it inflated because it was on TV?

Yes, I'm a supporting member, so step off!
  #10  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:26 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Remember guys, scammers = craigslist, legit sellers, protected purchase = Ebay.
__________________
"My wife told me she was afraid of the dark, then she saw me naked and now she is afraid of the light!"
  #11  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:35 AM
hdracer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN.
Send a message via Yahoo to hdracer
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by tastybasslines View Post
Remember guys, scammers = craigslist, legit sellers, protected purchase = Ebay.
That is total BS.
There are just as many scammers or more on Ebay.
He doesn't say he will ship it.
You can go and see it before you buy it.
For 24K I would fly there and look at it.
__________________

It's 106 miles to Chicago. We've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses. Hit it.
  #12  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:45 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 48313
Not to open a huge can of worms or start a flame war, but the whole "vintage" instrument kick is a total scam all around. Just because it's old or somebody famous played it or it was featured at a NAMM show doesn't make any more valuable. It's still made of wood, metal, and paint just like a modern Fender P, it's just old. Go buy an Alleva Coppolo for a fraction of the price and you'll get a better built bass than any old Fender. Jimmy uses only the finest aged woods, old fret wire, and custom wound p'ups.

These are my thoughts, not yours.
__________________
\m/ \m/
  #13  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:46 AM
Rip Topaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Willow Street, PA
Send a message via AIM to Rip Topaz
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdracer

That is total BS.
There are just as many scammers or more on Ebay.
He doesn't say he will ship it.
You can go and see it before you buy it.
For 24K I would fly there and look at it.
I agree. If I were spending 24k, I wouldn't mind a plane ride to be sure. I'm only an hour away. It's very tempting to go check it out.
  #14  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Metro St. Louis
Quote:
Originally Posted by levis76
Not to open a huge can of worms or start a flame war, but the whole "vintage" instrument kick is a total scam all around. Just because it's old or somebody famous played it or it was featured at a NAMM show doesn't make any more valuable. It's still made of wood, metal, and paint just like a modern Fender P, it's just old. Go buy an Alleva Coppolo for a fraction of the price and you'll get a better built bass than any old Fender. Jimmy uses only the finest aged woods, old fret wire, and custom wound p'ups.

These are my thoughts, not yours.
They are indeed your thoughts. Vintage gear is valuable because people are willing to pay for it, and that is the exact same reason Alleva Coppolo is valuable.
__________________
Vintage Yamaha & Peavey Fan!
G-K MB210, killer bang for the buck!
Spector Rebop Deluxe V, my best gift ever!
  #15  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:52 AM
Registered User

Endorsing artist: Lakland basses
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chicago
Dig that 'starburst' finish!
__________________
Quote:
The life which men praise and regard as successful is but one kind.
-Thoreau
  #16  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:53 AM
Rip Topaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Willow Street, PA
Send a message via AIM to Rip Topaz
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassfran
Dig that 'starburst' finish!
Obviously not a bassist.
  #17  
Old 11-24-2012, 09:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Somewhere in the maritimes.
Send a message via MSN to El-Bob Send a message via Skype™ to El-Bob
I'm not too sceptical. If the guy's not a bassist, and inherited it from his father, it's not surprising that he would make some mistakes, and not give a lot of details. It would be cool if someone on here went and checked it out though.
__________________
Space Duck
  #18  
Old 11-24-2012, 10:49 AM
smcd's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdracer View Post
That is total BS.
There are just as many scammers or more on Ebay.
Absolutely incorrect. CL is a cesspool of scammers. When you buy off ebay you have the buyer protection ebay offers. If you feel you've gotten scammed, you get your money back. There are NO such protections on craigslist. The chances of you getting scammed on CL are infinitely higher.
  #19  
Old 11-24-2012, 10:51 AM
smcd's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Supporting Member
Assuming that bass is what the seller claims, he's asking top dollar plus 20%. WAY overpriced.
  #20  
Old 11-24-2012, 11:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Between Chicago and Milwaukee
Quote:
Originally Posted by smcd View Post
CL is a cesspool of scammers.
AND a cesspool of spammers for replies. I'm trying to sell an old Wurlitzer organ and also a Sans Amp Bass DI on CL and all I get for replies is a response that reads somewhat like...

"Hey I'm going to say that I'm turned on by your ad. Here are my pics and maybe we could hook up sometime."

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?!

All I want to do is unload (no pun) those two things and all I get are kinky pictures of willing women wanting a date. And I bet those are a scam as well. CL sucks.
__________________
Youtube channel: 66TJP
Rickenbacker Fender Wal GK Mesa Acoustic Moog
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.