TalkBass Forums

TalkBass Forums (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/)
-   Basses [BG] (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   Scammer or just ill-informed?? (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/scammer-just-ill-informed-949302/)

srvlives4evr 01-16-2013 12:17 PM

please delete
 
delete post please

jlepre 01-16-2013 12:32 PM

I would walk away. Other fish in the sea, but it's your time.

amimbari 01-16-2013 12:43 PM

how can you be a scammer when you can go to his place and look at it personally?

If he is wrong then he is and you walk away...

two fingers 01-16-2013 12:49 PM

Go look at it. Hold the appraisal in your hand. Hold the bass in your hand. Open up the control cavity. If it passes the smell test, and you want it, then buy it. It's now priced lower than what you had offered. So if you want it, do your homework and then go see it. Look at some pics online of the control cavity of a real Spector. Print them out even. That's where most fakes get caught. But look at pics of other details as well. But if it checks out, and he wants less than you are willing to pay, then buy the dang thing and come back here with pics!

hdracer 01-16-2013 12:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by amimbari (Post 13729233)
how can you be a scammer when you can go to his place and look at it personally?

If he is wrong then he is and you walk away...

This ^^^

Scams are only on the internet, not face to face

Engine207 01-16-2013 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by srvlives4evr (Post 13729084)
So there's this ad that's been up for a while on my local CL of a "Exotic Spector NS-2". Very beautiful looking bass and asking price is actually very fair. Problem is, it is NOT a NS-2! To me its a Euro 4 or Euro 4 LX.

Now I've spoke with the owner and he said that he's a drummer and doesn't know much about it and that it's his deployed brother's bass, but he definitely knows the value and that he even emailed Spector about it and has an apprasal. So when I asked that I thought it wasn't a NS-2, he wasn't real defensive but more like "ahh, you caught me, didn't you??" attitude but was very persistant on getting me to buy it. So I made an offer, then got angry at my "insult to my intelligence" offer and conversation ended. At the time he was asking a lot more than he is now (which is less than what I offered him btw!).

It seems to me he somewhat knows what he has but for some reason is still trying to deceive for whatever reason. Very peculiar stuff going on considering this guy has two ads up for it with different asking prices. And one of them has the picture of the back of the headstock removed so you can't see the "crafted in Czech Republic' mark, lol. But it is odd considering the asking price is fair...hmmm IDK, what do you think?

These are the two ads.

http://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/msg/3450830497.html

http://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/msg/3541732832.html

I've seen his ad several months now, but consider this. It took me almost 4 months to sell an '03 MIM Precision for $250. Not that many bass players in Phoenix with a G burning a hole in their pocket right about now. Buyers market, for sure.

Admittedly, I know little about Spectors and their value... but having different photos - one in an old ad, different pricing, and a "deployed brother" don't seem that unusual...especially for Craigslist.

bassgod0dmw 01-16-2013 01:06 PM

Also, $1100 is a little high for a Euro but not absurd. If it actually was an NS-2 it would be a steal.

ldervish 01-16-2013 01:06 PM

Interestingly there is what looks to be an identical bass that was recently posted on the TB classifieds, in Phoenix, asking $1200. Same one? It wouldn't take long to find out. If not, I know which one I'd be looking at.

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f126/f...ro-4lx-948862/

Engine207 01-16-2013 01:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ldervish (Post 13729372)
Interestingly there is what looks to be an identical bass that was recently posted on the TB classifieds, in Phoenix, asking $1200. Same one? It wouldn't take long to find out. If not, I know which one I'd be looking at.

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f126/f...ro-4lx-948862/

Astonishing that there are two basses for sale in the same city at the same time - but not be the same bass. I don't think so, anyway. The flaming pattern seems different to me, and I can't see the stamp on the treble side of the bridge on the Craigslist bass. The TBer is a bassist, but the CL seller says he's not.

mizzou541 01-16-2013 01:42 PM

"This is the nicest bass guitar...(pause)...that I have ever laid eyes on"

BoomBoomOGTL 01-16-2013 01:59 PM

It's definitley a EuroLX (by the serial number) and it has a very nice top. Euros with tops/finishes like the one in the photo can bring $1200. There's a couple in the TB marketplace right now priced similarly. Sellers price isn't out of line if the bass checks out.

WoodyG3 01-16-2013 02:08 PM

My guess is just ill-imformed. If the price is fair, and you as a buyer know what you are getting, it doesn't matter.

FunkMetalBass 01-16-2013 02:23 PM

It's hard to tell because Spectors fit & finish is incredible across the board, but I'm almost entirely certain that it's not an NS-2 because the back of the headstock looks like it says "Czech Republic", indicating that it's actually a Euro.

His pricing for a Euro is fair, though he should change his post title.

My vote: misinformed.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.