Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:17 PM
srvlives4evr's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix
Supporting Member
please delete

delete post please

Last edited by srvlives4evr : 01-28-2013 at 07:44 AM. Reason: links are dead, bass sold, resolved thanks
  #2  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:32 PM
jlepre's Avatar
I love my BALLS!
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Warwick, NY
Supporting Member
I would walk away. Other fish in the sea, but it's your time.
__________________
John

EBMM SR5 Trans Red
Schecter Diamond P 5
Genz Benz STM-900
Epi UL2-115
Avatar B-115
Genz Benz Owners Club member #87
Schecter Owners Club
#323
Epifani Owners Club #114
  #3  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:43 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Supporting Member
how can you be a scammer when you can go to his place and look at it personally?

If he is wrong then he is and you walk away...
__________________
the only club that matters:
Charvel/Jackson club since 1987
http://youtube.com/amimbari
  #4  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:49 PM
two fingers's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Greenville, NC USA
Send a message via Skype™ to two fingers
Supporting Member
Go look at it. Hold the appraisal in your hand. Hold the bass in your hand. Open up the control cavity. If it passes the smell test, and you want it, then buy it. It's now priced lower than what you had offered. So if you want it, do your homework and then go see it. Look at some pics online of the control cavity of a real Spector. Print them out even. That's where most fakes get caught. But look at pics of other details as well. But if it checks out, and he wants less than you are willing to pay, then buy the dang thing and come back here with pics!
__________________
If you're gonna be stupid, you gotta be tough. - My Grandmother
  #5  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:52 PM
hdracer's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN.
Send a message via Yahoo to hdracer
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by amimbari View Post
how can you be a scammer when you can go to his place and look at it personally?

If he is wrong then he is and you walk away...
This ^^^

Scams are only on the internet, not face to face
__________________

It's 106 miles to Chicago. We've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark, and we're wearing sunglasses. Hit it.
  #6  
Old 01-16-2013, 12:53 PM
Engine207's Avatar
Losing faith in humanity...one call at a time.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Higley, AZ
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by srvlives4evr View Post
So there's this ad that's been up for a while on my local CL of a "Exotic Spector NS-2". Very beautiful looking bass and asking price is actually very fair. Problem is, it is NOT a NS-2! To me its a Euro 4 or Euro 4 LX.

Now I've spoke with the owner and he said that he's a drummer and doesn't know much about it and that it's his deployed brother's bass, but he definitely knows the value and that he even emailed Spector about it and has an apprasal. So when I asked that I thought it wasn't a NS-2, he wasn't real defensive but more like "ahh, you caught me, didn't you??" attitude but was very persistant on getting me to buy it. So I made an offer, then got angry at my "insult to my intelligence" offer and conversation ended. At the time he was asking a lot more than he is now (which is less than what I offered him btw!).

It seems to me he somewhat knows what he has but for some reason is still trying to deceive for whatever reason. Very peculiar stuff going on considering this guy has two ads up for it with different asking prices. And one of them has the picture of the back of the headstock removed so you can't see the "crafted in Czech Republic' mark, lol. But it is odd considering the asking price is fair...hmmm IDK, what do you think?

These are the two ads.

http://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/msg/3450830497.html

http://phoenix.craigslist.org/evl/msg/3541732832.html
I've seen his ad several months now, but consider this. It took me almost 4 months to sell an '03 MIM Precision for $250. Not that many bass players in Phoenix with a G burning a hole in their pocket right about now. Buyers market, for sure.

Admittedly, I know little about Spectors and their value... but having different photos - one in an old ad, different pricing, and a "deployed brother" don't seem that unusual...especially for Craigslist.
__________________
Non nobis gratum anus rodentum
  #7  
Old 01-16-2013, 01:06 PM
bassgod0dmw's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: White Plains
Supporting Member
Also, $1100 is a little high for a Euro but not absurd. If it actually was an NS-2 it would be a steal.
__________________
Sadowsky Club #259|Gallien Krueger Club #922
EBMM Club #70|Modulus Mob #8
Effects Addict #14|Mesa Boogie Club #33
  #8  
Old 01-16-2013, 01:06 PM
ldervish's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Johnson City, TN
Supporting Member
Interestingly there is what looks to be an identical bass that was recently posted on the TB classifieds, in Phoenix, asking $1200. Same one? It wouldn't take long to find out. If not, I know which one I'd be looking at.

FS: Spector Euro 4LX
__________________
"Politics is the art of so plucking the goose as to obtain the most feathers with the least squawking"
- R.G. 2011
  #9  
Old 01-16-2013, 01:30 PM
Engine207's Avatar
Losing faith in humanity...one call at a time.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Higley, AZ
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldervish View Post
Interestingly there is what looks to be an identical bass that was recently posted on the TB classifieds, in Phoenix, asking $1200. Same one? It wouldn't take long to find out. If not, I know which one I'd be looking at.

FS: Spector Euro 4LX
Astonishing that there are two basses for sale in the same city at the same time - but not be the same bass. I don't think so, anyway. The flaming pattern seems different to me, and I can't see the stamp on the treble side of the bridge on the Craigslist bass. The TBer is a bassist, but the CL seller says he's not.
__________________
Non nobis gratum anus rodentum
  #10  
Old 01-16-2013, 01:42 PM
mizzou541's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KC, MO
Send a message via MSN to mizzou541
Supporting Member
"This is the nicest bass guitar...(pause)...that I have ever laid eyes on"
__________________
G.G.C.S. #1 | Aguilar #187 | EMG #15 | Markbass #270 | Blues Bass Players #126

MIZ-ZOU!
  #11  
Old 01-16-2013, 01:59 PM
BoomBoomOGTL's Avatar
Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SC. Where everything is fried!
Supporting Member
It's definitley a EuroLX (by the serial number) and it has a very nice top. Euros with tops/finishes like the one in the photo can bring $1200. There's a couple in the TB marketplace right now priced similarly. Sellers price isn't out of line if the bass checks out.
  #12  
Old 01-16-2013, 02:08 PM
WoodyG3's Avatar
Supporting Member and fetch player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado, USA
Supporting Member
My guess is just ill-imformed. If the price is fair, and you as a buyer know what you are getting, it doesn't matter.
__________________
Carvin Museum Site

Carvin 1--U.S. Peavey 26--Markbass 97--Flatwound 145--Lakland 428--Blues Bassists 1451--Lull 82

"You ain't good enough no lessin' you got the soul" - Hubert Sumlin
  #13  
Old 01-16-2013, 02:23 PM
Registered User

Endorsing Artist: J.C. Basses
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Phoenix, Arizona 85029
It's hard to tell because Spectors fit & finish is incredible across the board, but I'm almost entirely certain that it's not an NS-2 because the back of the headstock looks like it says "Czech Republic", indicating that it's actually a Euro.

His pricing for a Euro is fair, though he should change his post title.

My vote: misinformed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by McThumpenstein View Post
I don't think the wife would buy the "I need to take off this knob and put a whole new bass under it" story.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 AM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.