Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 11-15-2012, 12:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Send a message via Yahoo to lunarpollen
"Vintge Fender Bass" hahahaha

"Vintge Fender Bass - $300"

http://sacramento.craigslist.org/msg/3410870754.html

It will undoubtedly be flagged shortly, but I did a screen capture just in case....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/10...58whatever.png

And I saved the pics from the ad:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/10...94c7274e1c.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/10...11e4042110.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/10...376709441d.jpg

I wonder if he will find anyone gullible enough to believe him...
__________________
Hollowbody Bass Club #121, Hondo Club #002, Official Short Scale Bass Club #018, Short-Scale Six-String Bass Club #001, Epiphone Club #010, can't recall what other clubs I'm a member of here...
  #2  
Old 11-15-2012, 12:11 AM
Munjibunga's Avatar
Total Hyper-Elite Member

Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Groom Lake, NV
GOLD Supporting Member
I'd buy it for $300, if it exists. Even if it's not the real deal. But I'd sure make it a face-to-face deal.
__________________
I miss my butt!
  #3  
Old 11-15-2012, 01:34 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Biloxi, MS
Not much to lose at that price, I'd at least show up for the deal.

Like any Craigslist deal though, I'd keep my pistol close by.
__________________
U.S. Peavey Club #265 Soundgear Club #152
Fretless Club #767 Ibanez Club #974
  #4  
Old 11-15-2012, 01:36 AM
bassteban's Avatar
I want to be HER bicycle
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern California
Supporting Member
Saw that, wondered if its legit and meant to be $3000
__________________
Go ahead and swoop
  #5  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver
+1 wonder if it could be legit and is a price error.
  #6  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:29 AM
Caca de Kick's Avatar
Sponsored by Jagermeister
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle / Tacoma
Supporting Member
So far, the only known white late '50s Precision bass with a matching headstock was in Norm's Rare Guitars collection.

Scam!
__________________
www.highnoonhorizon.com
  #7  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver
Oh, I thought it was a refin. But yeah, looking back at it right now, the centre latch on the case is in a weird place, and the gold PG is a bit too gold.
  #8  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, Ca
I saw the same one earlier and immediately closed the ad. Such bull pucky.
The give away that it's a scam is that the seller says " The bass will ship...".
Ya don't ship when you Craigslist it up.
If ya end up getting a 58 p for $300 I tip my hat to you!
  #9  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:43 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Did a little research...
Ripped off directly from here.

http://london.olx.co.uk/vintage-1958...7-iid-74509877
  #10  
Old 11-15-2012, 02:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhollywood View Post
Did a little research...
Ripped off directly from here.

http://london.olx.co.uk/vintage-1958...7-iid-74509877
Wow, thanks a lot for this!
Amazing how the interwebz work....
  #11  
Old 11-15-2012, 03:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
I'd be willing to pay $350.
__________________
Sadowsky Owners #294, Mediocre Bassist Club #428, TB I.D.I.O.T. #10, Atheist Bass Players #148...
  #12  
Old 11-15-2012, 08:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
The bass is definitely real. However, a scammer will get back to your email, not the seller. Try it! It's fun to mess with those guys!
__________________
"What's wrong with being sexy?"
  #13  
Old 11-16-2012, 01:41 AM
Munjibunga's Avatar
Total Hyper-Elite Member

Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Groom Lake, NV
GOLD Supporting Member
I emailed him and asked when would be a good time to come see the bass. I haven't heard back from him yet.
__________________
I miss my butt!
  #14  
Old 11-16-2012, 08:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munjibunga View Post
I emailed him and asked when would be a good time to come see the bass. I haven't heard back from him yet.
It usually takes about a day to hear back from a scammer- they have a lot of mail to go through- kinda like Santa!
__________________
"What's wrong with being sexy?"
  #15  
Old 11-16-2012, 10:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munjibunga View Post
I emailed him and asked when would be a good time to come see the bass. I haven't heard back from him yet.

This seller has had other scams up before.
I also emailed him about seeing bass in person.
Nothing.
  #16  
Old 11-16-2012, 11:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
It's nice to see that it's original sodder joints are still in tact. I hate when sodder joints get out of tact, don't you?

Seriously, if you were going to commit fraud in public, wouldn't you at least use a spellchecker?

-NT
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 AM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.