Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
What in god's name....

Sign in to disble this ad
This entire page is freaking me out: http://guitar.bluetreevintage.com/bass-guitars/


There's links to a crapload of really cheap vintage basses to the point where I have a bad feeling in my gut about some of these....

EDIT: by the way I'm not like advertising for these guys or anything I'm genuinely confused
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Latimour View Post
A 15 string bass walks into a bar and the bartender says "man, you look really stressed". The bass says, "yeah, there's a lot of tension in my neck".

Last edited by UnfortunateTony : 09-18-2010 at 10:21 PM.
  #2  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, St. Paul suburb
Supporting Member
Why?
__________________
Jump it, shuffle it, swing it, slide it...I've got the blues and I can't hide it!
http://www.myspace.com/cooldisposition
  #3  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Seattle
When I see a 1970s gibson for 300 bucks I get a little cautious
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Latimour View Post
A 15 string bass walks into a bar and the bartender says "man, you look really stressed". The bass says, "yeah, there's a lot of tension in my neck".
  #4  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
I'm fairly certain "vintage" is used as a substitute for "BS" on that website.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Friedland View Post
People say a lot of stupid ****.
  #5  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:25 PM
ElectraPhoenix's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Middleton/Madison WI
Supporting Member
dude...
1. they are bidding auctions; that's not the final price.

2. the links redirect to ebay. this is probably just an ebay seller's site where they advertise all their own listings.

although most of these listings aren't vintage... most items there listed as "vintage" are NOT pre 1980 (the definition of vintage i believe) but some (like the grabber) ARE vintage.

[rant]
these are all legitimate, ebay auctions and you'd all know that if you had bothered to click the links and do at least a little bit of exploring.
[/rant]
__________________
Atheist bass players club #152
Wisconsin bassists club #54

Last edited by ElectraPhoenix : 09-18-2010 at 10:28 PM.
  #6  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, St. Paul suburb
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectraPhoenix View Post
dude...
1. they are bidding auctions; that's not the final price.

2. the links redirect to ebay. this is probably just an ebay seller's site where they advertise all their own listings.
Yep.
__________________
Jump it, shuffle it, swing it, slide it...I've got the blues and I can't hide it!
http://www.myspace.com/cooldisposition
  #7  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectraPhoenix View Post
[rant]
these are all legitimate, ebay auctions and you'd all know that if you had bothered to click the links and do at least a little bit of exploring.
[/rant]
Take some deep breaths and repeat after me: "It's only the internet. It's only the internet..."

I actually did click on the links before I posted. Still think it's BS (then again, I tend to think "vintage" is synonymous with "old BS" anyway.)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Friedland View Post
People say a lot of stupid ****.

Last edited by Muaguana : 09-18-2010 at 10:43 PM.
  #8  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:42 PM
ElectraPhoenix's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Middleton/Madison WI
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muaguana View Post
Take some deep breaths and repeat after me: "It's only the internet. It's only the internet..."

I actually did click on the links before I posted. Still think it's BS (then again, I tend to think "vintage" is synonymous with "old BS" anyway.)
yeah, yeah, i know

again, most of that stuff isn't vintage at all... it's actually just a random collection of links from different sellers... i have no idea what the purpose of that site is though. but, some of that stuff is defo vintage: like the grabber. (i mean, MAYBE it's a fake but i somehow doubt that)
__________________
Atheist bass players club #152
Wisconsin bassists club #54
  #9  
Old 09-18-2010, 10:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
.

Last edited by ChrisAlan : 09-20-2010 at 06:26 PM.
  #10  
Old 09-18-2010, 11:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I dunno, that cherry burst fender looked kinda nice. Even if its BS, that bass still looks pretty nice.
__________________
Atkinson Owners Club Founder - Fender MIJ member #89 - Aguilar Club member #172 - Roscoe Club member #4251
  #11  
Old 09-18-2010, 11:58 PM
Johnny Crab's Avatar
ACME, Line 6, SWR, QSC, Greco user/BOSE PAS abuser
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South Texas
GOLD Supporting Member
Deflationary depression = prices fall
__________________
If you want to find truth, start by turning off your television.
  #12  
Old 09-19-2010, 12:30 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Florida
Supporting Member
Looks like a nice inventory of stuff and its not on CL, is it ? So have fun and make a bid.........................
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Follow TalkBass on Twitter   Visit TalkBass on Facebook  

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 PM.




Copyright 2011 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar? Visit our new sister site TalkGuitar.com [beta]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.