TalkBass Forums

TalkBass Forums (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/)
-   Basses [BG] (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/)
-   -   Would you trust this on ebay ? (http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f8/would-you-trust-ebay-955768/)

CedricVandermeu 02-06-2013 01:11 AM

Would you trust this on ebay ?
 
Hi,

I'm looking for a Fender Jazz 50th anniversary edition (2010) and found this one on ebay :

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2010-FENDER-...item3cceac44f8

Now, honestly this seems a bit dogy. Serial number is weird, there is a story about "overstock", "finishing issues" etc. In short, I'm in doubt even if the feedback for the seller is positive.

So if anyone knows of another one in great shape (unless you convince me to trust this one, but again, the serial number doesn't match with any other of these that I've seen).
Could it be that fake ones are going around ?

Thanks for the feedback,

Cedric

Splods 02-06-2013 01:15 AM

Ask the seller to show the serial number on the neck, proof of purchase, etc.

It seems ok to me, I'm not to sure on the headstock logos though.

Dredmahawkus 02-06-2013 06:36 AM

the damage is obviously worse then he says if he wont put a pic of the real bass up.

Eric Perry 02-06-2013 06:40 AM

There are multiple pics up, including the SN. What's the concern?

jlepre 02-06-2013 07:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric Perry (Post 13838168)
There are multiple pics up, including the SN. What's the concern?

+1
Why do you think it's not the actual bass? It shgows the serial number very clearly.

If you're worried ask him to send you his invoice.

It's not like he's selling it for $100.

gjbassist 02-06-2013 08:02 AM

Looks good to me. Lots of pics. Seller has 100% feedback with 520 transactions! I don't see the finish checking though so it's either very minor or just doesn't show up well in those photos. I would ask for some closer up photos of the finish that show it better.

christopherogut 02-06-2013 09:12 AM

man oh man, that thing looks great!

smcd 02-06-2013 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gjbassist (Post 13838477)
Looks good to me. Lots of pics. Seller has 100% feedback with 520 transactions! I don't see the finish checking though so it's either very minor or just doesn't show up well in those photos. I would ask for some closer up photos of the finish that show it better.

+1


I don't understand why anyone would be concerned with the authenticity of this. The only thing I'd be concerned about is that the price he's asking is way high.

DiabolusInMusic 02-06-2013 09:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gjbassist (Post 13838477)
Looks good to me. Lots of pics. Seller has 100% feedback with 520 transactions! I don't see the finish checking though so it's either very minor or just doesn't show up well in those photos. I would ask for some closer up photos of the finish that show it better.


+A million. Not only does he have a 520 positive feedback score, they seem to be for high end guitars from Fender to PRS.

So yes... I would trust the guy.

Any concerns you have, just get more pics about. Odds are this guy isn't a rookie and can provide them.

Also, a US10 S/N is an acceptable way to start a Fender S/N from 2010 as afar as I know.

EDIT: Just looked at the price... I wouldn't trust him if he thinks it is worth that. I imagine the 3 refused offers we probably already extremely fair and much more than it is worth.

tjh 02-06-2013 11:18 AM

... if the seller is agreeable to ship the bass to the OP in Bangkok for that price, it potentially may be an ok deal I imagine ... but probably not likely ...

... the seller does seem to be quite proud of the pieces he is selling, based on prices ... perhaps it explains his monicker "Starving Artist" ...

depalm 02-06-2013 11:28 AM

I'd buy this bass right way if I needed another J.
Price is a little high indeed but the bass seems to be great.

KrisHayes 02-06-2013 01:20 PM

Doesn't everybody try to relic their basses now anyway? Haha. Seems like a good deal!

smcd 02-06-2013 02:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjh (Post 13839486)
... if the seller is agreeable to ship the bass to the OP in Bangkok for that price, it potentially may be an ok deal I imagine ... but probably not likely ...

... the seller does seem to be quite proud of the pieces he is selling, based on prices ... perhaps it explains his monicker "Starving Artist" ...

+1


Here's a NOS bass he's selling.

Same bass, non-ebay vendor. Brand new w/warranty. $146 cheaper.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.