Go Back   TalkBass Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Bass Guitar Forums > Basses [BG]
Register Rules/FAQ/CUP Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Supporting Membership
Thank You

PTB

Latest Supporting Member
Donate to Upgrade Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-06-2013, 01:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Would you trust this on ebay ?

Hi,

I'm looking for a Fender Jazz 50th anniversary edition (2010) and found this one on ebay :

http://www.ebay.com/itm/2010-FENDER-...item3cceac44f8

Now, honestly this seems a bit dogy. Serial number is weird, there is a story about "overstock", "finishing issues" etc. In short, I'm in doubt even if the feedback for the seller is positive.

So if anyone knows of another one in great shape (unless you convince me to trust this one, but again, the serial number doesn't match with any other of these that I've seen).
Could it be that fake ones are going around ?

Thanks for the feedback,

Cedric
  #2  
Old 02-06-2013, 01:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Ask the seller to show the serial number on the neck, proof of purchase, etc.

It seems ok to me, I'm not to sure on the headstock logos though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellowinman View Post
Next time a three month old baby with a puppy leaves his bass out in the rain, I'm reporting you to the humane society
  #3  
Old 02-06-2013, 06:36 AM
Dredmahawkus's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Boston
Supporting Member
the damage is obviously worse then he says if he wont put a pic of the real bass up.
__________________
Gallien-Krueger Club #925

I refuse to be the 1,046,234th member of the jazz bass club!
  #4  
Old 02-06-2013, 06:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Make a left at the Taco Bell
There are multiple pics up, including the SN. What's the concern?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalex View Post
My thumbs look exactly like my wife's big toes. They're like smelly little doppelgangers!
  #5  
Old 02-06-2013, 07:53 AM
jlepre's Avatar
I love my BALLS!
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Warwick, NY
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Perry View Post
There are multiple pics up, including the SN. What's the concern?
+1
Why do you think it's not the actual bass? It shgows the serial number very clearly.

If you're worried ask him to send you his invoice.

It's not like he's selling it for $100.
__________________
John

EBMM SR5 Trans Red
Schecter Diamond P 5
Genz Benz STM-900
Epi UL2-115
Avatar B-115
Genz Benz Owners Club member #87
Schecter Owners Club
#323
Epifani Owners Club #114
  #6  
Old 02-06-2013, 08:02 AM
gjbassist's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Supporting Member
Looks good to me. Lots of pics. Seller has 100% feedback with 520 transactions! I don't see the finish checking though so it's either very minor or just doesn't show up well in those photos. I would ask for some closer up photos of the finish that show it better.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck norriss View Post
Anyone doesn't like Geddy Lee? Automatic punch in the face.
SX Club Member in Good Standing/Geddy Lee Club #17/Lefties Who Play Right #4/GK Club #840/Ampeg Club #816
  #7  
Old 02-06-2013, 09:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Monroe, NY
Supporting Member
man oh man, that thing looks great!
  #8  
Old 02-06-2013, 09:38 AM
smcd's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjbassist View Post
Looks good to me. Lots of pics. Seller has 100% feedback with 520 transactions! I don't see the finish checking though so it's either very minor or just doesn't show up well in those photos. I would ask for some closer up photos of the finish that show it better.
+1


I don't understand why anyone would be concerned with the authenticity of this. The only thing I'd be concerned about is that the price he's asking is way high.
  #9  
Old 02-06-2013, 09:45 AM
DiabolusInMusic's Avatar
Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjbassist View Post
Looks good to me. Lots of pics. Seller has 100% feedback with 520 transactions! I don't see the finish checking though so it's either very minor or just doesn't show up well in those photos. I would ask for some closer up photos of the finish that show it better.

+A million. Not only does he have a 520 positive feedback score, they seem to be for high end guitars from Fender to PRS.

So yes... I would trust the guy.

Any concerns you have, just get more pics about. Odds are this guy isn't a rookie and can provide them.

Also, a US10 S/N is an acceptable way to start a Fender S/N from 2010 as afar as I know.

EDIT: Just looked at the price... I wouldn't trust him if he thinks it is worth that. I imagine the 3 refused offers we probably already extremely fair and much more than it is worth.
__________________
Carvin LB76 / Dingwall ABZ ! Support Local !
Markbass SD 800
Epifani UL2-310 / Markbass 104 HF-4

! ! Rocking against all gods ! !
  #10  
Old 02-06-2013, 11:18 AM
tjh tjh is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Minnesota
Supporting Member
... if the seller is agreeable to ship the bass to the OP in Bangkok for that price, it potentially may be an ok deal I imagine ... but probably not likely ...

... the seller does seem to be quite proud of the pieces he is selling, based on prices ... perhaps it explains his monicker "Starving Artist" ...
  #11  
Old 02-06-2013, 11:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rio
Send a message via Skype™ to depalm
I'd buy this bass right way if I needed another J.
Price is a little high indeed but the bass seems to be great.
__________________
www.myspace.com/depalmeira
  #12  
Old 02-06-2013, 01:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Doesn't everybody try to relic their basses now anyway? Haha. Seems like a good deal!
__________________
Kris Hayes
musicproinsurance.com
  #13  
Old 02-06-2013, 02:14 PM
smcd's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Supporting Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjh View Post
... if the seller is agreeable to ship the bass to the OP in Bangkok for that price, it potentially may be an ok deal I imagine ... but probably not likely ...

... the seller does seem to be quite proud of the pieces he is selling, based on prices ... perhaps it explains his monicker "Starving Artist" ...
+1


Here's a NOS bass he's selling.

Same bass, non-ebay vendor. Brand new w/warranty. $146 cheaper.
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Visit TalkBass on Facebook   Download our iOS app   Download our Android app

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 PM.




© 2012 Talk Music Group Inc. All rights reserved.
Play guitar too? Visit TalkGuitar.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.