10 string Prat Bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by PaPaVB20, Oct 21, 2012.

1. PaPaVB20

PaPaVB20

Hi, I am opnening this thread to show some kind of diary of the construction of my new bass... As some may know I am a luthier apprentice in Costa Rica. Oscar F. Prat has been great, first helping me with advice, then selling me amazing woods for my basses, and the most amazing detail, he invited me to his shop to learn the craft for a couple of months. So I decided that the best thing to do was ordering a Prat Bass! The best decision Ever! So here are the specs:
    10 string Bass
    Multiscale (reverse shape) 35"-32"
    Tuned from F#-Eb
    28 frets
    Neck: 7 piece Wenge/curly maple
    Body core:50 year old american walnut
    Top and back: curly koa
    Fingerboard:macassar ebony
    Pickups villex
    Preamp: mike pope flexcore
    Piezo: ets with richter electronics control board
    Wooden knobs, pickup covers, ramp, cavity covers walnut/koa
    Koa block inlays
    16mm string distance

So after some chat, I told Oscar I wanted a small instrument (as small as possible as a ERB) so he changed the desig on the reverse a bit, and it turned out amazing! Designed a headstock which I love, and we took on every detail... So i took a flight to US, and as soon as I arrived, we started the woodworking part. Will post some pictures of the process...

2. PaPaVB20

PaPaVB20

image-72976563.jpg

Here you can see the neck shape cut close to the shape...

Attached Files:

3. PaPaVB20

PaPaVB20

image-4088393457.jpg

Here is the man himself standing before all we done the first day... Glued the neck laminates, cut the body tops, backs and core... Lots of progress in a couple of hours...

Attached Files:

4. PaPaVB20

PaPaVB20

image-1564481662.jpg

Well here we glued the body core with the koa tops and backs..

Attached Files:

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

You lucky bastard. I would love to go learn from Oscar.

7. PaPaVB20