1985 Peavey Foundation

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DavidEdenAria, Dec 14, 2013.

1. DavidEdenAria

DavidEdenAria

Well, I've had this bass a while but have been busy with other things so I finally am getting around to cleaning the pots, input jack and everything functions fine.

Great playing & sounding bass thru my USA David Eden 'the metro' 2x12 combo (but I am a newbie to bass).

Anyhow, I do NOT have an original case so I called around to some dealers (some of which sold these Foundations new) and was surprised when I heard some of the comments.

"You probably don't want to spend much for a case on a $200 bass".

"Do people still want these, the new import Peavey basses are nicer overall".

OOOKKAAYYY.....you know I have collected old USA tube gear for the last 25+ years and have bought and sold many nice older Fender guitars....not many Peaveys I admit.

But dang, I thought many of the USA Peavey Foundations were highly regarded and some Peavey basses were considered to be "high end" so to speak.

"$200".....I don't think I would ever take $200 for this bass...I don't even know if I would entertain $300 to be honest.

Years back, bass players told me these were up there with USA Fender basses, no?
  2. Bongolation

Bongolation

$100-$200 in most markets, including mine. $200 is really about tops.

Great value qua bass, but market is market. :meh:
  3. Basshappi

Basshappi

There are many who have a snobbish attitude against Peavey.
    The facts are that the 80's era Peavey USA made instruments are very good quality. But they often sell for fairly low prices.
    I have an 80's MIA Foundation and have handled several others and they are excellent.
  4. Vintage Guy

Vintage Guy Supporting Member

Even though these don't have a great resale value,they can stand head to head with much higher priced bass's!
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bongolation

Bongolation