1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

20 Member Swing Band Question/Advice

Discussion in 'Ask the Berklee Bass Department' started by sandman357, Mar 15, 2014.

1. sandman357

sandman357

Hi,
    I am not sure if this is the place to ask for advice, actually I am not even sure what to ask. I am thinking of replying to an Ad that has been running off and on for the past two months for a bass player for a 20 piece swing band. They say they would prefer a double bass, but an electric bass guitar would be OK.

Here is the thing. I am self taught, play by ear and play an electric bass guitar. I can't read music and know next to nothing about theory. I am musically illiterate. But if I hear it I can usually play it. I have been playing bass for over 25 years this way. In an effort to head off a super long post (I know, too late!), I will just say I consider myself a successful local musician who has never been turned down by a band I have auditioned for. (Rock and Country bands for the most part.)

So that is the scenario. I guess my question is how important is it to be able to read big band charts and chords? Do big bands typically change arrangements of songs from gig to gig? I guess I am basically asking if someone like me should even reply to the Ad? I hold educated musicians on such a high pedestal. Even though I am confident in my abilities, I can't help but feeling I would be wasting their time even responding to the Ad.

Thank you for your time.

2. SteveC

SteveC

Any "swing band" gig I've done has involved reading written lines and chords.

3. GKon

GKon Supporting Member, Boom-Chicka-Boom Supporting Member

Why don't you respond to the ad and ask them? They will let you know exactly what they are looking for.

4. Febs

Febs Supporting Member