20 years of playing bass, 10 years on TB.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Benjamin Strange, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange

Disclosures:
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I'm a few days late posting this, but I just surpassed my 20th anniversary of playing bass, and 10th anniversary of being on TB - which is, incidentally on the same day: Christmas.

With a little bit of help from family, I bought my first bass for myself for Christmas at age 15 (a terrible Lotus P-bass copy), and started teaching myself how to play. That first week I took it completely apart to figure out how it works, so I guess I've been fixing guitars now for 20 years, too. Over the past two decades I've played countless shows (from tiny clubs to giant stadiums), toured the world and elsewhere, played in some great bands, met some fantastic people, released 3 solo records (working on the fourth - see my signature!), 1 EP, two music videos, owned only a small handful of basses(!), am still using my first bass amp (prototype Mesa/Boogie Bass Triaxis), and started my own guitar repair shop (Strange Guitarworks. It's been at times extremely frustrating, almost always financially straining, and yet somehow always rewarding. I couldn't imagine my life any different, nor would I want anything else.