20 years of playing bass, and I just bought my first non-Mesa amp.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Benjamin Strange, Nov 10, 2012.

1. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange

Disclosures:
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I've been lugging Mesa/Boogie amps around for almost 20 years now. In addition to my now-famous Bass Triaxis and Strategy 500 rig, I've owned the M-2000, Buster, Walkabout, and many of their tube power amps and cabs (including guitar amps!). I love, love, love my Mesa amps, but my life has led me in a peculiar direction and I needed something small, powerful, and lightweight - something that Mesa just doesn't do just yet. So, in a moment of weakness, I picked this up:

[​IMG]

It feels a little weird owning something that doesn't have the Mesa name on it, and playing something without tubes is just... strange. But! It's super lightweight, and it's loud. Tone was of minimal concern. My reasoning was this: I needed something for small to medium gigs that I can carry in a single trip, and I couldn't spend much money (this is 1/5 the price of the smallest Mesa combo). This fit the bill.

You know how when you get a new piece of gear home and you play with it for hours on end? That didn't happen here - I pulled it out of the box, made sure it worked, and then stuck it in a corner to await my next gig. Weird, huh?

My Bass Triaxis is essentially retired from touring, after about 15 years on the road and in the studio. It will remain the cornerstone of my sound, and I will never part with it. But the drunks at the bar don't care how awesome my bass rig is - they just want to dance, get drunk, and screw. So I guess I'm reluctantly a GK guy now... or at least until Mesa finally decides to make a D class amp.

Attached Files:

2. two fingers

two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard Gold Supporting Member

Cool. What is it? (model)

3. B-string

B-string Supporting Member