1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

3 years and wanting to grow more!!

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by DNA_BubbaD, Jun 24, 2013.

1. DNA_BubbaD

DNA_BubbaD

Hi, I am Dionis Agustin. I started playing bass at my church's Youth and College group when I was 19 years old because there was a need for a bassist in each band. I always liked the sound of the bass and love how it's "simple" yet holds the band together. I only played the violin when was in elementary school, so musicianship was not my forte, really isn't still... But from playing these last 3 years multiple times a week at church, I have grown to love the bass and being in a band. I have so much more room to grow. I was taught by my girlfriend, who doesn't play the bass, just the piano and a little bit of the guitar. She would just walk me through tabs for each song we'd play.. since then, I haven't really grown in knowledge of keys and the bass. By that I mean, no matter what songs we play, if the song calls for an 'E' to be played, I play open E or E an octave up on the same E string. Same goes with A or a G that needs to be played. So my style is super basic and incorrect. It gets the band by, but not excellently.