1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

3rd finger in lower positions

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by DonkeyInk, Feb 10, 2013.

1. DonkeyInk

DonkeyInk

What do you think? How is it used?

2. eerbrev

eerbrev

Let me preface all that I say here by mentioning that I am by no means an expert. I'm just a journeyman player (if that: applying to masters degrees at the moment), and am basing what I say here off of personal experience. YMMV, IMHO, IANAL, WYSIWYG, DFTBA, NAFTA, etc.

I use third finger in two ways, both as a sort of Modified second finger.

1.) Replacement for 2 in a half-step from 1. This is often referred to as "Bille" or "Italian" style fingering, where a hand frame is 1-3-4 instead of 1-2-4. I don't use it in this situation to lead to 4, in those cases I use 1-2-4 (chromatic). I do use it for example, in the opening bar of the Beethoven 5 trio: A: 3-1-1-4 E: 1 A: 0-1-3-1-3 D : 0-1-2-4.

I like this because of the condensed hand that it gives, and I find that condensed hand helps with bringing arm weight to the string as well as helping create a nice vibrato.

2.) in minor third fingerings where the semitone is between 3 and 4. so 1-3-4 with a whole step between 1 and 3. This is, for the most part, a last resort fingering for me, not because I can't do it safely or without hurting myself, but because I find that my articulation between 3 and 4 is not as accurate as I want it to be. I'm sure I could improve this with practice (Indeed, I have been improving it with practice), but in general, if I can get away with a different fingering, I will just for the sake of my own confidence level. I know several people who use this all the time to great success.