1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

4-string vs. 5-string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Eulogist, Nov 4, 2002.

1. Eulogist

Eulogist

I've been a religious 4-string bassist for a long time now, but I'm starting to get bored with it. Thinking maybe a 5-string would be cool.

This thread is mainly for people who feel strongly either way.

Sorry if this has been done before.
  2. Michael Jewels

Michael Jewels

I thought that after I bought a five string that my fours would just stay in their cases, but no so. I play two of my basses most of the time; my Jack Casady and my Stingray. Next, I play my Yamaha five string and then my fretless and my old Ibanez.

Let me stop lying - For the last three weeks or so all I've been playing has been my six sting guitar, trying to get good at the blues.

I had to have a five string about a year and a half ago, and bought one for $400 new. It definitely cured my G.A.S. for a fiver, but, the four string fire still burns as strongly as ever.

If you think you need a fiver, you do! It's like being in love; if you *Think* you are, you are. :cool:

Mike J.
  3. Ba Gua Tiger

Ba Gua Tiger

If you want the range and depth a 5 string offers, and would use it, not just the b string, but all five, then I think 5 string is the way to go. it just takes a little adjusting at first but in no time you have the added depth/range of an added string (maybe even more frets. I have 24 on my 5)