4 String with low B - Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by PhatPhoenix, Jan 25, 2013.

1. PhatPhoenix

PhatPhoenix

Hi all, here goes the first post.:ninja:

I am looking into getting a new bass and have been wanting a 5 string, but I have annoyingly short fingers so I was thinking a 4 string with B-E-A-D tuning might be better. I am not very good at modifying guitars, so I was wondering if there were any well made 4 string basses that are built to be B-E-A-D tuning?

I was originally thinking of a Carvin SB5000, but if anyone knows something similar which is not going to be a problem with buzzing frets or requires aftermarket modifications I would be all ears.

Thanks for the help.

2. QweziRider

QweziRider Supporting Member

The only two things I have ever had to do going B-E-A-D is to use the bottom four of a five string set (need those heavier gauges) and gently file the nut slots a tad wider - not deeper. Then do a setup to account for the possibly different tensions. Beyond that, I've never had to do modifications.

3. PhatPhoenix

PhatPhoenix

Thanks QweziRider, I am somewhat concerned with the tonal qualities of the guitar. For example there are some 5 strings out there that have a subpar B string and others that sound authoritative. This is why I wonder if anyone makes a 4 string with a low B in mind? The other point that has been mentioned on other posts is tension and I wonder if some guitars might be better suited to thicker gauge strings.

At the end of the day I want something that sounds right and plays well.

4. QweziRider

QweziRider Supporting Member

I'm afraid the only four stringers I own are Ricks, so I can't help you along the lines of other brands that do well with BEAD. I can say the Ricks have been perfectly suited in sound and feel with BEAD.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. basspipe

basspipe Supporting Member