1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

$400 to spend

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by small alien, Nov 17, 2013.

1. small alien

small alien

Howdy. I'm new here. I've been reading threads for the last month or so and really enjoying the forum.

I've been playing bass with a new band for about 6 months. Kind of a loud punky blues-rock three piece (for now). I've been using my old TKO65 and it's just not cutting the mustard. I need more oomf. I like an organic sound. Not too slick. I play an '85 Ibanez Roadstar II. I play mostly finger style. Simple, melodic playing. We'll be playing small to medium bars, maybe a medium outdoor show in summer. That kind of thing.

I've looked at Ampeg combos a little. Curious about Peavey combos. I've read bad quality reviews of both. Markbass seems out of price range. Played a GK combo and did not like the tone.

What would you get for $400 bucks?

Thanks!

2. DannyBob

DannyBob

Spend it on cocaine.

But seriously, just try around with a few combos and see which ones you like. If you like organic sounds try Ashdown; either the Five Fifteen-ABM100 100w 1x15 Combo or the Five Fifteen MiniRig Bass Stack

3. DannyBob

DannyBob

Oh, and welcome to TalkBass! :)

4. small alien

small alien

How about the Acoustic B200mkII 200W?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. DannyBob

DannyBob

Never really heard of the make :meh:

Don't know if that's just me or what, but if it sounds nice to you then give it a go!

7. small alien

small alien

Thanks, DannyBob. First idea is tempting but wife says no.

I know the question is kind of stupid because it's so open ended. I'm usually on a saltwater fish forum and it drives me crazy when people say, "what fish should I get?"