40hz high pass filter - build or buy?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Edword, Dec 30, 2007.

1. Edword

Edword

I read about it here:

http://eminence.com/pdf/cab-legend-cb15.pdf

I've never used one before, so I don't know if this is something I can go out and buy, or if I have to find the parts and build one. Any hints would be appreciated!

TIA

2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    I use a parametric EQ unit for this purpose. TB'er fdeck makes a small preamp with highpass filter for sale, but I've never actually seen or used it. Also there was some talk of one of the boutique amp builders (Bergantino maybe?) making a small standalone filter, but I don't think it "exists" for sale yet.

3. Edword

Edword

Thanks for the info.

Eminence makes high pass filters, but I couldn't find a 40hz model. that's why I wonder if I'll have to end up making one.

4. A9X

A9X

Do this electronically at line level inserted in an FX loop or between pre and power. A 40Hz passive filter with a decent slope is going to be expensive, big, heavy and unless well made and specified, a power hog.

If you can solder and build electronic gear, I can point you to some sites that will show how to DIY. Rod Elliot's for example.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Edword

Edword

Much obliged!

7. el_Kabong

el_Kabong

If you can pick up one of these they sound decent, are very cheap, have buckets of switchable eq as well as a variable HPF and LPF. I think Alto make a similar box.

8. synaesthesia

synaesthesia

You can get an electronic crossover and patch in your efx loop or before your poweramp. There are several rackmounts ones on the market but for your purpose you might look into the small ones that Samson make. e.g.:
    http://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=1750&brandID=2