1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

410s with 115?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by woody357, Mar 20, 2014.

1. woody357

woody357

I was thinking about adding a 115 to my 410 cabinet. Does anyone use that setup? What' your thought on the sound?

2. Orangeclawhammr

Orangeclawhammr Supporting Member

There has been lots written about this very subject. I have no idea what wording you could use to do a search, but you would find plenty. I use combos so I have no experience to share.

3. VanillaThundah

VanillaThundah Straight out a donkey's mouth Supporting Member

4. xshawnxearthx

xshawnxearthx

I'll sum up what the majority of TB'rs will say. "If you like your tone, and want more of it, just add a matching cab."

I liked having that pairing.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. f.c.geil

f.c.geil I'm your huckleberry... Supporting Member

Unless you have an 8ohm 115, a 4ohm 410, and a 2ohm stable amp, it's a bad idea. If you do, it isn't a good idea. With both cabs having the same impedance, you'll likely fry the 115. With the situation described above, it may not sound good. It might, but the odds are against it. You're better served to buy a cab matching the existing one.

7. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    C'mon! You know the deal. :rollno:

8. Sartori

Sartori

Generally, no. If you like the sound of your rig but just want more volume, a second cab exactly like your existing one would be a better fit.

Part of this is because of possible phasing issues that make pairing different drivers together a bit of a crapshoot (sometimes it sounds good, sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it results in some weird acoustic anomalies).