1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

4ohm and 8ohm

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Trod1946, Jan 26, 2014.


  1. Trod1946

    Trod1946 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Can anyone tell me if it is possible to run a 4ohm and 8ohm cab at the same time with an Ampeg SVT 4 Pro?
     
  2. David A. Davis

    David A. Davis

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    Does your 4 pro have 2 ohm capability? 4 ohm + 8 ohm =2.66. So, you would use the 2 ohm setting.
     
  3. dincz

    dincz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    The 4 ohm cab will take 2/3rds of the amp's available power and 1/3rd will go to the 8 ohm. So what are the cabs?
     
  4. Jazz Ad

    Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Location:
    Reims, Champagne, France
    Absolutely no issue since it's a stereo amp. Just plug a cab into each channel and you're good.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Trod1946

    Trod1946 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    I really appreciate all the replies. Thanks.
     

Share This Page