5 and/or 6 String Players... Please Help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Matthew_84, Mar 18, 2014.

?

5 or 6 Strings?

1. 6-String (BEADGC)

17 vote(s)
    30.9%
  2. 5-String (BEADG)

33 vote(s)
    60.0%
  3. 5-String (EADGC)

5 vote(s)
    9.1%
  1. Matthew_84

Matthew_84

Hello all,

I am a day or two away from ordering my next bass.

At first, I was settled on a 5-string for several weeks, and then last week I felt the urge to get a 6-string particularly for a fretless.

My main reason for the 6-string fretless is that I can play higher notes without changing my positions, and my intonation should be more accurate. I debated getting the 6-string fretless and a 5-string fretted (BEADG), but thought not only would it be odd switching between the two, but that I would come to like the feeling of using the C string without shifting, and would want that on the fretted and then would regret not getting the 6-string fretted initially.

However, I'm not a professional player, just a hobbyist, and I don't have a ton of spare money at this time. 6-string basses are hard to come by - there's a lot less variety, and they're all quite pricey. Where as 5-stringer's seem to be almost a dime a dozen these days.

I also realized that for the most part, I would be playing in the 5th fret position, and my index would be on the E on the B string. It would give me a more comfortable position, plus I could play up to the Eb on the G string without changing position. I rarely go higher than that anyway, I might for one song out of ten or something.