5-String Fanned Hybrid Headless

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Dave Higham, Jul 13, 2012.

1. Dave Higham

Dave Higham

I’ve hesitated about posting this as, although I’ve already started on it, it might turn out to be a very long thread as I work very slowly and there are numerous other things I should be doing instead. Still, we’ll see how it goes.
    I’ve made a few basses but each one has been totally different from the last because I don’t like making the same thing twice, I make them for fun, I make them for me (even though I’m a crap bassist) and I’m not interested in making Fender copies.
    It will be a ‘fanned fret’ because I like the idea (but I’ve never tried one) but not a very exaggerated fan at 33.5” to 35” scales as I don’t think my old fingers could cope with anything longer and I never go up that end of the fretboard where they're closer together.
    A hybrid headless as I’ve been admiring Maurizio’s creations and I think that ‘headless’ basses do look better with some sort of head.
    It will have a Glockenklang 3-band preamp and custom pickups by Aaron Armstrong, partly because they’ll be a non-standard shape and will have covers to match the body wood and partly because of his reputation.
    Just for the fun of it, I’m going to try to make almost everything else myself.
    Oh, and the body will be chambered to try to keep the weight down.
    This is what it should look like. Wish me luck.
    [​IMG]
  2. octaedro7

octaedro7

Great Dave, was looking forward seeing a new build from you.
    So, are you going to make the bridge/tuners system yourself?
  3. Dave Higham

Dave Higham

Yep, mostly.
  4. Dave Higham

Dave Higham

I’m going to start with the tuners as I’d look pretty stupid if I got all the rest done and then made a cock-up of the tuners.