1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

5-string Fretless REVIEW: LTD B-205sm-FL, $399

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JacoNOT, Nov 2, 2012.

1. JacoNOT

JacoNOT

LTD B-205sm 5-string fretted :) LTD B-205sm-FL 5-string fretless

LTD B-204sm 4-string fretted :) LTD B-204sm-FL 4-string fretless

After months of flip-flopping I bought the fretless 5-string LTD B-205sm-FL and am very happy with it. It's a perfect match for my fretted LTD B-205sm. Everything's the same except for frets-vs-not. I think both basses are a TREMENDOUS VALUE: Excellent construction, good woods, quality electronics and decent hardware. I bought mine for $350 each, and though I'm new to bass (since Spring 2012) I'm sure experienced bassists would be impressed by the quality and playability of these 'budget' basses.

Knobs were set too low and would have scratched the body, but I saw it early and remounted them higher. No harm done. Also, the fretless neck appears to be made somewhere other than where the fretted neck was made. The fretted neck looks to be of higher quality and the stain/color is warmer/nicer. The fretless neck is kinda pale, and its rosewood laminated neck layers are more narrow than on the fretted neck (5-piece neck construction, 3 maple + 2 rosewood strips). I note that my fretless bass was manufactured about 8 months later than the fretted, so I hope this doesn't indicate falling quality or 'cheapified' production standards. Whatever the explanation, the fretless neck seems really good, is really thin (front to back) and plays really well. Just like the Fretted Twin. The fretted neck (purchased in April 2012) has been very stable, so I assume the new fretless neck will be, as well.