5 vs 6 string

Discussion in 'Ask Anthony Wellington' started by funkybass, Jan 19, 2014.

1. funkybass

funkybass

Hi ant. I'm wondering why you choose to play a 5 with a low b instead of a 6 string bass? I'm trying to decide if I want to move up to a 6 or stay on my 5. I do like my 5 with 19mm string spacing, and thinking I might feel cramped on a 6. I'd love to hear why you play a 5 string.
  2. Ant Wellington

Ant Wellington

Yo FunkyB,

I wish I had a profound reason to give you but I don't.

I went straight from 4 string to a 6 string the I restrung from E to high F(like a 7 string with out the B string). Then I went to a string fretless(my 1st custom bass) and then to a 5 string fretted.

But I knew that I would end up a 5 string player for 1 simple reason,...

I needed to cover the bassline on the song Flashlight that came out in '78. That bassline went down to a low C on the synth bass and the line isn't as effective an octave higher.

That's it! That's why I started playing a 5 string bass.

The 6 string wasn't for me because I still think of myself primarily as a bass player who is fulfilling the role of bass. An extra high string doesn't fulfill that role(for me). And I don't want to play an extended range bass just for looks. I'm not that insecure that I need to look like I can play by having a lot of strings, especially strings that I'm not gonna' use on most of the songs. If I were soloing on every song it would be a different story. But I'm playing baselines 99% of the time. A 'C' string isn't necessary for that.

But I own a lot of basses so I can choose the bass I need for the situation. But my preference is to play bass.

Coincidently, I still think of myself as a 4 string player. A 4 string player playing 5 string out of necessity.

peace,
    anthony
  3. Bassman197835

Bassman197835