'57RI problem?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by bass dan, Jan 5, 2013.

1. bass dan

bass dan Supporting Member

Not sure if this is a problem or not. I have been doing my own tech work latley. I reinstalled the original pickup in my '57RI pbass. I had to resolder it a couple times as I had a cold solder. I have a hum if I touch the pole piece. Some of the poles hum more than others. Some wont hum if I am touching the stings some will.

I dont recall this being a problem before I started messing with it. It could be I never really toched the pole peices before and it has always done this but since I have messed with it I fear I messed it up.

The pickup sounds fine and ohms at 10.8k on my meter. I get a 11.5k reading at the output jack. Not sure if that is significant or not.

Maybe a problem with one of the pots or cap? Like I said I'm new to doing this but wanted to try. Any ideas?
  2. bassmanrocke

bassmanrocke Supporting Member

Two thoughts. First it sounds like the ground strap for the bridge could possibly have come loose. I would check that solder joint first. The other is that if you disconnected the lead between the two halves of the pickup you may have reversed the leads and that would cause some buzzing issues as they would no longer work as a humbucker (polarity and winding direction issues).
  3. bass dan

The ground maybe the problem. I didnt mess with the ground wire coming from the bridge but I have looked at wiring diagrams for a pbass. The ground goes to the volume pot but is not soldered to the wire coming from the pickup. It was like this before so I just duplicated the way it was. On the diagram I looked at the ground wire appeared to be soldered with the wire from the pickup to the pot. Right now they have separate solder joints on the same pot.
  4. Cadfael

Cadfael

1.) The magnets in one coil hum more than in the other coil?
    That's "natural". Same "problem" with a Jazz Bass ...

2.) Which amp do you use?