6 ohm load... should I just avoid it?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Stevenjm, Nov 25, 2012.

1. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

Hey guys, I'm new to playing bass. I've been playing guitar for about 15 years since I was a young kid, but now I'm playing bass and have been acquiring some gear to gig with.

I have an Acoustic B200H head that puts out 200w @ 4 ohms, but my acoustic 4x10 is 8 ohms. Just for more volume, and a fuller sound I've been thinking of adding another 8ohm 2x10 or 4x10.

I found a good deal on a Fender Rumble 410, but its rated at 4ohms... If its loud/full enough I could just use that and sell my acoustic cab. But if I stack them, my load would be 6 ohms (right?)... Would a 6 ohm load be bad for my solid state head?
  2. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Nope..........

A 4 ohm load and a 8 ohm load is 2.67 ohms

2/3 of the power will go to the 4 ohm, 1/3 to the 8 ohm.

Solid state amps only care if you go BELOW the minimum rating.
  3. Bassmec

Bassmec

Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    Yes you should avoid it because whereas your acoustic cab is made out of 4 x 8 ohm drivers in series parallel and the fender cab is made out of 4 x 4 ohm drivers in series parallel, therefore the fender 4 ohm drivers are getting twice the power that the acoustic 8 ohm drivers are getting.
    That's not at all clever is it.:bassist:
  4. Stevenjm

Stevenjm

Ok cool. Good to know. Fender shouldn't have made theirs a 4 ohm load since most people like to add on extra cabs at times.

Thanks guys.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Thats why there are 2 ohm capable amps, or people use stereo power amps.
  7. Steve Dallman

Steve Dallman Supporting Member

I have both 4 ohm and 8 ohm 4X10's but use the 4 ohm more often than not. Fender made theirs 4 ohms to produce max power from their heads.