1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a FREE Account to post and unlock tons of features!

70s P bass on reverb.com

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by mordechai, Mar 9, 2014.

1. mordechai

mordechai

Dec 8, 2007
    Maine
  2. aetheldrea

aetheldrea Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2010
    Santa Paula, CA
    I'm no expert, but the "Made in USA" on the waterslide looks sloppy, and there's no serial number anywhere. Scary.

3. Sponsored by:

to hide this ad and more.
  4. froghat

froghat Supporting Member

Jun 14, 2009
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Plus it appears to have the truss rod adjustment on both ends of the neck. I wouldn't touch it.

5. dave79

dave79 Rest well Fish Supporting Member

The decal is fine, somebody did remove the serial number probably long ago, truss adjustment at butt of neck, great deal for 799 shipped if frets/neck are good

6. A-Step-Towards

A-Step-Towards Supporting Member

Nov 16, 2009
    Los Angeles California
    Thats 100% legit, I just sold a early '76 in that same color with a rosewood board and non original electronics for $1500 and kept the original case I will get another $100 for. This one is a 77 or later because the tuning machines are chrome and not nickel but still thats a $1200-$1400 bass as it sits. Looks like the pickup and maybe the pots are the only non original parts.

7. dave79

Oh you''d get 100 if it was beat to heck, nice shape closer to 2 these days

8. A-Step-Towards

Nov 16, 2009
    Los Angeles California
    Yeah its just finding a buyer, I settled on $120 picked up rather then hassle around with tying for more.

Is reverb a legit place to buy stuff? Never heard of this site, it seems sketchy but I guess thats due to me not being familiar with it.

9. superflybass

superflybass Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2004
    La Crosse WI
    Reverb is completely legit. Much easier to sell on then ebay .

I use it personally and so does the company that I work for