71 Kiso-Suzuki 3/4 bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by MakiSupaStar, Feb 20, 2013.

1. MakiSupaStar

MakiSupaStar The Lowdown Diggler

I have a friend who's grandfather used to play this bass in a jazz and big band set up. Her mom wants 500 for it. Good deal? The bridge appears to be pretty good. I have real cheap student stand up right now with a crooked neck that is driving me nuts. I'm a beginner in the stand up world, but have been playing electric for 23 years.

What you guys think?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
  2. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi.

I'd say it's a decent deal.
    Would be a great deal over here.

But then again I just love any playable (vintage) DB that's under the 1K mark ;).

Others will disagree...

Regards
    Sam
  3. artfahie

artfahie Supporting Member

That's the ugliest avatar I've ever seen... it gives me the creeps. Have the bass checked out by a luthier, it probably needs a set-up anyway... it's a great chance to get an educated appraisal of the thing.
  4. KUNGfuSHERIFF

KUNGfuSHERIFF

The last Suzuki I saw sell on eBay went for $300, and it took a while.

Bear in mind those basses were made for children, so they will run small and won't have much acoustic volume.

I absolutely agree you should have it evaluated before buying. Check gollihurmusic.com for a luthier in your area.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MakiSupaStar

Ok. So the fact that its a 1971 doesn't make difference? In the electric bass world that's old. :D Yeah I figured a set up for sure. I thought the bridge looks pretty solid though.
  7. Jsn

Jsn

If it's (physically) sound and you like its (auditory) sound, $500 is a fair price. As a step-up bass, it's better than any BSO you'd get in this price range. In 1971, even the cheap instruments were real instruments.
  8. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Supporting Member

This isn't the electric bass world.