'73 Jazz with a rough life

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ntenny, Nov 8, 2012.

1. ntenny

ntenny

Delurking with some curiosity about one of my basses.

Away back in 1991 or '92, I was a starving student with GAS for a fretless, and thanks to the kindness of some friends and a certain amount of living on ramen, I managed to come up with a 1973 Jazz that had been defretted and, um, *inventively* refinished in a striking black semigloss coat of spraypaint. The defret was more or less competent, the pickups were replaced with EMG Selects, and the finish, such as it was, had been beat to heck. If you wanted to find a way to destroy the resale value of your bass while keeping it in decent working condition, you'd pretty much do exactly what that previous owner had done; but of course nobody thought in those terms about CBS Fenders back then.

Well, I've got the bass opened up to replace the EMGs with the new HC Aguilars, and I thought I might as well pull the neck, clean everything up a little, and confirm that the neck stamp matched the 1973 s/n date. Behold---no neck stamp at all, which I guess is not unheard of, but what's really interesting is that the neck pocket has *five* holes, not four; the extra looks like it's in about the right position for the third bolt of the 3-bolt neck pattern (see attachment). I don't think the fifth hole has ever had a screw in it.

The wiring was a hack job, with big blobs of solder and some missing ground wires. I'm surprised it worked as well as it did---there was quite a bit of hum, but it wasn't intolerable.

I'm pretty sure it didn't leave the factory fretless; the lines are fretwire or some similar piece of metal, and the edges of the wood aren't extremely clean. I'm assuming the neck does match the body, though, based on s/n, decals, pot dates, and the unlikelihood of anyone faking a CBS Fender in the 80s and then half-destroying it!